Lap Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
I have been making this for some time and its very good. I don't always add the chicken (if its a side dish I leave it out) and its still good. Its a no fail recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Very much like chinese chicken salad from the deli counter. I used little more than half the dressing. Will definately make again with addition of soy sauce and a touch of sesame oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommy3xyz

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
This is a great salad to bring to any get together people just love it! I mixed this recipe with my mom's old staple recipe. Mostly everything is the same, but used 3 tablespoons Apple cider vinegar instead of white. Added extra tablespoons of sesame seeds and almonds and toasted them in the oven at 350 degrees until brown. No green onions for me, but used carrots instead. I agree to leave out the ramen noodles until right before serving since they soften up if left in the refrigerator for too long. I also like to store the dressing separately and put on the salad before serving. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Something was just off about this- maybe the dressing?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
I grew up eating a salad just like this but without the chicken! Great addition!!! I still like my moms dressing though! Try using 4 Tbl. Seasoned rice vinegar and 4 Tbl. sugar!! It really gives it that extra zing!! I always have to make a double batch because 1 batch wont make it till the next day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
This is an easy and very tasty salad to throw together. The chicken is not necessary for the salad. I made this once for a potluck and another person brought their version of it and mine was gone in an instant, while the other person took home her leftovers. Thanks for the keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tifferlopez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
I make this salad all the time. I like to have leftovers so I use 1 1/2 packages of bagged coleslaw. To the original recipe I add a little red onion and celery, toasted sesame oil, an extra packet of noodles and dressing mix but I don't double the oil or sugar, etc. Instead..I shake on some bottled teryaki dressing (usually Soy-Vay) which adds another layer of flavor. My 12 year-old suggested this and thinks it makes it even better. A great light meal for a hot summer day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jasper, Alabama, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
I have had this recipe in my recipe box for two years. I didn't realize that I never reviewed it. It is great! I do the sesame oil instead of sesame seeds. I also marinate the chicken in some kind of asian dressing. I use the bag cole slaw instead of cutting up the cabbage myself. Always a winner at parties and get togethers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
This salad was a hit with the entire extended family this weekend. I made it as a side to grilled salmon, with a few adjustments: omitted chicken, added shredded carrots and a 2nd pkg of ramen, used cashews and toasted sesame oil as suggested, and one extra scallion. Everyone's still talking about it today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stephkirk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
simple, flavorful, economical, different... 4 things that makes this recipe a winner! Chef Marian Thompson
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Fruity Curry Chicken Salad

See how to make a tasty curry chicken salad with lots of healthy fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States