Lane Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Seems oddly difficult to do but the diffuculty makes it better right? Also you dont have to put the brandy right because I find that I won't ever use brandy again so whats the point?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
verry good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
Love making this cake for the Fiance but instead of using brandy flavoring I use Whiskey...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
I would have given this recipe 5 stars. However, to have a superb Lane Cake you're going to need a LOT more liquor! In her original recipe, Emma Rylander Lane calls for a full wine glass of whiskey or brandy - the REAL THING. My mother and I have always included at least a half-cup of liquor to the filling. In our opinion, if you're not going to add the liquor (unless for a child's birthday, of course), you shouldn't even bother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
I didn't even know this recipe was in TKAM. I was in the 8th grade, and my grandmother was still making Lane Cakes every Christmas when I read that book! I have been looking for this recipe for years. And my father has been asking for this cake for years. I'm going to surprise him with it for his 88th birthday in a couple of weeks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
I made this a while back for my class after reading "To Kill A Mockingbird" and everybody loved it! My teacher told me after one bite "Normal people can't so this" He was practically dancing as he ate! I used Brandy instead of Bourbon, used a full cup of coconut, half a cup of raisins, and maraschino cerries. The seven-minute icing was the perfect touch! I had to fight to save two pieces for my family to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lycoris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
Takes a little time, but definitely worth it for a special occasion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
My grandmother used to make this cake at Christmas. I looked everywhere for this recipe, but could only find modernized versions. This is a very good recipe. It does take an eternity to make properly, but it's worth it. I froze my cake layers for about two hours and then removed them and filled them AND frosted them with the same filling, instead of cream frosting. I believe the original recipe used the filling to frost and fill the cake. It makes an amazing Christmas presentation. It's very difficult to make the frosting stay on the cake, but freezing the cakes and chilling the frosting for an hour or so makes it easier. I used my hands to pat the frosting on and then placed the cake in the refrigerator overnight. The next morning, I removed the cake and patted more frosting on the "bald spots." I also use a half cup of brandy, instead of brandy extract. Thank you so much for the recipe! I work with a lot of southerners and they were all so excited when I brought the cake in for Christmas. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2003
True, this cake took quite some time. However, the results were worth it! The cake had a fabulous texture, but I omited the cherries and coconut. I also took some to my English teacher while we were studying TKM, and earned 25 points in extra credit. Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladyheather06

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2001
This recipe is time consuming but well worth it. I first tried it in 9th grade when a fellow student prepared it while we were reading "To Kill a Mockingbird".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

American Flag Cake

Each slice of cake is decorated with an American flag. See the simple trick!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States