Lance's French Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2003
This is an excellent recipe. The only problem I had was I bought 5 regular size white onions and only needed 3 of them. That was plenty! I used sherry as the white wine. I really liked this because it was sweet, not salty. I used a mix of provolone, mozzarella, and fresh romano on the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
This soup was the best ever. My husband has asked me to make it four more times since I've first tried it. Its VERY easy. I added the wine to the onions as they were sauteing, it seemed to add more flavor. I used mozzarella cheese. My parents loved it also. Better than any restaurant. Thanks for such a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2005
This soup was great. I used a packaged grated cheese that included Parmasan, Provolone and Swiss, and placed a large handful on top of each bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Krank Moodie
Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
I used one less onion and some garlic artisan bread with deli sliced swiss cheese on top. I have to saw that my husband was in awe, and all his coworkers were jealous when he took it for lunch the next day!!! The aroma was all over the lunch room. This is one of the best french onion soups I have had, and I give this a 10 stars, because 5 just didn't complete how good this is!!!! Thanks again!! This is going into my Recipe rotation. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandalyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2005
Awesome recipe... it the sweetness of the sugar and the wine really contrasted well with the broth and the onions... the cheese and the bread really went well with the wine. A+++ recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2005
Great! The wine is really nice in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
My french onion soup connoisseur boyfriend gives this a 5 star rating. So do I! I did tweak the recipe somewhat. I only used 3 large red onions, 3 (14.5 oz) cans beef broth, and used 2 teaspoons of sugar. I sliced fresh French bread, toasted it first and then soaked both sides in the broth. Instead of Swiss, I used deli sliced Muenser cheese. The white wine really made the difference. Thanks so much! Will be making this for my parents at a family get together this weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
This is one of the best french onion soup recipes I've ever made! I made it vegetarian with some veggie broth for my roommate and it came out really delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HELLODJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
This is so yummy!! And so incredibly easy to make!! The only thing I added was some garlic because everything, in my humble opinion, tastes better with garlic! Oh and I think I let the onions cook a bit longer than the translucent stage - some had a touch of carmelized color but I think that just adds to the overall flavor!! Thanks Lance!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
Very good. It took awhile to make, but was worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rome, New York, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States