Lance's French Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
Tried every French Onion Soup on this site and this is the best. I left out the wine and added 2 tsp beef boullion. Other than that I made this exactly ad written and was thrilled with the results. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by queenvalerie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2003
This is an excellent recipe. The only problem I had was I bought 5 regular size white onions and only needed 3 of them. That was plenty! I used sherry as the white wine. I really liked this because it was sweet, not salty. I used a mix of provolone, mozzarella, and fresh romano on the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
This soup was the best ever. My husband has asked me to make it four more times since I've first tried it. Its VERY easy. I added the wine to the onions as they were sauteing, it seemed to add more flavor. I used mozzarella cheese. My parents loved it also. Better than any restaurant. Thanks for such a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
This was my first try at FOS... and it was fantabulous! I watched the video posted on this website before attempting it and I combined the two recipes. I heated up some olive oil and butter in a dutch oven, added the onions and sauteed until golden brown. Added wine and cooked until the alcohol burned off. Added sugar and tossed until well coated. Added beef broth, covered and simmered for 20 minutes. Added salt and pepper to taste and continued simmering for 10 more minutes. Poured soup into bowls, added bread and covered with 2 slices of swiss cheese. Broiled until cheese melted and served. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kattigan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
All I can say is YUM!!!! I absolutely love French Onion soup, and never dreamed I could make it myself. I discovered this about 2 months ago and have made it 4 times since. I actually take french bread and tear it into pieces and put it in the bottom of the bowl before adding the soup. Also, I use deli sliced provolone cheese on top. Just thinking about this is making me want to go home and make it tonight (even though I just made it three nights ago!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bargersville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
This recipe is fabulous! I only added a clove of garlic while the onions were sauteing and a beef bullion cube to the broth! Thanks Lance, I can't wait to make it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
A nice recipe, but I don't use beef broth, so I wanted to find a deeper flavor while avoiding the beef. I will try chicken broth next time, but this time I made a variation for a vegetarian friend with vegetable broth. I used only 1 1/2 large white onions, which was plenty of onion. Upon tasting it, I both thought it was missing something and I did not think that the sugar was necessary, as the soup tasted a little sweeter than I would have liked it, so I added a pinch of dried thyme and a pinch of dried parsley along with the salt and pepper. In the future, I might leave the sugar out. The wine was a very nice addition. I added 1/2 cup to the onions after they were tender, let it mostly bubble away, and then also added 1/2 cup of wine to the broth at the step indicated in the recipe. Finally, I made the French bread a few days in advance and toasted them in olive oil, butter, and garlic in a pan on the stove to make them into croutons before adding them to the soup. I grated swiss and smoked gouda together. Yum. Thanks for the recipe! This was a quick supper good for a late night movie with friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manhattan, Kansas, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
I tried this recipe tonight and was very pleasantly surprised at how easy and delicious it was. It's as good as any that I've had in any resturant. The only changes that I made was to use olive oil instead of vegetable oil, no salt, only pepper and I used garlic powder. The wine that I used was Marsala. Excellent recipe, I will definately be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
This is so simple and so delish!! I used 4 onions that were medium sized instead of five, otherwise I followed this recipe exactly. Very godo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2005
This soup was great. I used a packaged grated cheese that included Parmasan, Provolone and Swiss, and placed a large handful on top of each bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Krank Moodie
Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States