Lance's French Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2003
This is an excellent recipe. The only problem I had was I bought 5 regular size white onions and only needed 3 of them. That was plenty! I used sherry as the white wine. I really liked this because it was sweet, not salty. I used a mix of provolone, mozzarella, and fresh romano on the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2005
Awesome recipe... it the sweetness of the sugar and the wine really contrasted well with the broth and the onions... the cheese and the bread really went well with the wine. A+++ recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2005
This soup was great. I used a packaged grated cheese that included Parmasan, Provolone and Swiss, and placed a large handful on top of each bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Krank Moodie
Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
This soup was the best ever. My husband has asked me to make it four more times since I've first tried it. Its VERY easy. I added the wine to the onions as they were sauteing, it seemed to add more flavor. I used mozzarella cheese. My parents loved it also. Better than any restaurant. Thanks for such a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
A nice recipe, but I don't use beef broth, so I wanted to find a deeper flavor while avoiding the beef. I will try chicken broth next time, but this time I made a variation for a vegetarian friend with vegetable broth. I used only 1 1/2 large white onions, which was plenty of onion. Upon tasting it, I both thought it was missing something and I did not think that the sugar was necessary, as the soup tasted a little sweeter than I would have liked it, so I added a pinch of dried thyme and a pinch of dried parsley along with the salt and pepper. In the future, I might leave the sugar out. The wine was a very nice addition. I added 1/2 cup to the onions after they were tender, let it mostly bubble away, and then also added 1/2 cup of wine to the broth at the step indicated in the recipe. Finally, I made the French bread a few days in advance and toasted them in olive oil, butter, and garlic in a pan on the stove to make them into croutons before adding them to the soup. I grated swiss and smoked gouda together. Yum. Thanks for the recipe! This was a quick supper good for a late night movie with friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manhattan, Kansas, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2005
Great! The wine is really nice in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
Overall I thought this was a very good recipe. I was looking for something a little more complex in flavor however it is a great place to start. I added thyme and dried parsley and used Gruyere rather than swiss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
My french onion soup connoisseur boyfriend gives this a 5 star rating. So do I! I did tweak the recipe somewhat. I only used 3 large red onions, 3 (14.5 oz) cans beef broth, and used 2 teaspoons of sugar. I sliced fresh French bread, toasted it first and then soaked both sides in the broth. Instead of Swiss, I used deli sliced Muenser cheese. The white wine really made the difference. Thanks so much! Will be making this for my parents at a family get together this weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
I needed my daily soup fix to be quick and easy today - I've got a cold, and feel bleh - so when I saw this reviewed this morning, I thought I'd give it a go. I've tried a couple of way more complicated FOS recipes in the past, and they were nowhere near as good as this. The only thing I changed was to add a couple of bouillon cubes to beef it up a little, and I've just realized I forgot the sugar. Oopsie... Anyway, thanks so much, Lance!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
All I can say is YUM!!!! I absolutely love French Onion soup, and never dreamed I could make it myself. I discovered this about 2 months ago and have made it 4 times since. I actually take french bread and tear it into pieces and put it in the bottom of the bowl before adding the soup. Also, I use deli sliced provolone cheese on top. Just thinking about this is making me want to go home and make it tonight (even though I just made it three nights ago!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bargersville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States