Lance's French Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
Very good. It took awhile to make, but was worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rome, New York, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
This is so yummy!! And so incredibly easy to make!! The only thing I added was some garlic because everything, in my humble opinion, tastes better with garlic! Oh and I think I let the onions cook a bit longer than the translucent stage - some had a touch of carmelized color but I think that just adds to the overall flavor!! Thanks Lance!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
I used one less onion and some garlic artisan bread with deli sliced swiss cheese on top. I have to saw that my husband was in awe, and all his coworkers were jealous when he took it for lunch the next day!!! The aroma was all over the lunch room. This is one of the best french onion soups I have had, and I give this a 10 stars, because 5 just didn't complete how good this is!!!! Thanks again!! This is going into my Recipe rotation. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandalyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
This is one of the best french onion soup recipes I've ever made! I made it vegetarian with some veggie broth for my roommate and it came out really delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HELLODJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
This is soup had excellent flavor. Both my husband and I loved it. The only changes I might make are using one less onion, or more broth. Also, I might use a different type of cheese on top. The swiss cheese got a little lumpy and was difficult to break apart to eat with the soup. Overall..awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paradise, California, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2006
So easy and just as good as any I've ever had in a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betsy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
We love french onion soup, and this was a very satisfactory dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
This recipe is fabulous! I only added a clove of garlic while the onions were sauteing and a beef bullion cube to the broth! Thanks Lance, I can't wait to make it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
All I can say is YUM!!!! I absolutely love French Onion soup, and never dreamed I could make it myself. I discovered this about 2 months ago and have made it 4 times since. I actually take french bread and tear it into pieces and put it in the bottom of the bowl before adding the soup. Also, I use deli sliced provolone cheese on top. Just thinking about this is making me want to go home and make it tonight (even though I just made it three nights ago!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bargersville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
I needed my daily soup fix to be quick and easy today - I've got a cold, and feel bleh - so when I saw this reviewed this morning, I thought I'd give it a go. I've tried a couple of way more complicated FOS recipes in the past, and they were nowhere near as good as this. The only thing I changed was to add a couple of bouillon cubes to beef it up a little, and I've just realized I forgot the sugar. Oopsie... Anyway, thanks so much, Lance!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States