Lance's French Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
Very good. I made this mistake of using vidalia onions and too sweet of a wine - the combination was too sweet. It was very good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HollyN82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
Tried every French Onion Soup on this site and this is the best. I left out the wine and added 2 tsp beef boullion. Other than that I made this exactly ad written and was thrilled with the results. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by queenvalerie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
So good! I added Fontina shredded cheese as well, but even without this would have been a 4 star. i just wish there was a way to keep the bread from turning SO soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KissTheChefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
It was good. Hit the spot. I made them in individual ramekins. I burned the cheese on two of them because I started watching tv instead of the food. Peeled it off and started over and they all came out great. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larry G Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
I made this two different ways, the original recipe for my carnivorous husband and with veggie stock for my herbivore daughter. They both loved it and said not to change a thing. Thanks Lance!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
This recipe is very easy to make and has a wonderful taste. We altered using provolone cheese instead of swiss and found it to add a little more flavor. If you are a baked onion soup fan, this recipe is for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Excellent Recipe! I always double the recipe using sweet vidalia onions...usually about 5 large ones. I don't care much for the flavor of Swiss cheese, so I substitute with shredded mozzarella. My whole family loves this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Country Club Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
This was really good. I didn't have any wine, but it was still great. A definate make again on a cold winters day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefLes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
This was good. After I had sliced 4 onions I stopped as that seemed like plenty and it was. Next time I would add a little more beef broth to give a stronger beef flavor, but overall, this was very good and my husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tullahoma, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Earlham, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
I tried this recipe tonight and was very pleasantly surprised at how easy and delicious it was. It's as good as any that I've had in any resturant. The only changes that I made was to use olive oil instead of vegetable oil, no salt, only pepper and I used garlic powder. The wine that I used was Marsala. Excellent recipe, I will definately be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States