Lance's French Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Fantastic! The only modifications I made were to use a gluten free broth and then broiled it with just the cheese to make it a gluten free recipe, fantastic flavor. Next time I wll try it with some homemade gluten free bread to see how it works out, but it is great with just the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
This is so simple and so delish!! I used 4 onions that were medium sized instead of five, otherwise I followed this recipe exactly. Very godo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
We loved this soup! The only changes we made were using olive oil instead of vegetable oil and using gruyère cheese instead of swiss cheese. Both of those changes were personal preference. It is mild but you can taste all the different flavors. We make a lot since we have about 2 bowls each!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
The best French onion soup - ever! This is so easy, so quick and so tasty. Wife is a french onion soup lover and does not crave restaurant FO soup anymore! I only recommend half as much bread if you actually want to drink any soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason Leonard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Yum, yum, the best French Onion Soup I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
Great flavor, even the kids liked it. It was a bit salty but I attribute that to the broth I used. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Wow!! This recipe was fab! I added 2 cloves of garlic when satueeing the onions, as well as 1/2 pound of fresh mushrooms. And, I used red white instead of white, as well as 2 Tbsp. of ground, dried basil. My husband RAVED about it!!!! Will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Delicious - I find myself making this just for me during the middle of the week... I do add a dash of worcestershire, and omit the white sugar, and I carmelize my onions with brown sugar and add the white wine to that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
This was my first try at FOS... and it was fantabulous! I watched the video posted on this website before attempting it and I combined the two recipes. I heated up some olive oil and butter in a dutch oven, added the onions and sauteed until golden brown. Added wine and cooked until the alcohol burned off. Added sugar and tossed until well coated. Added beef broth, covered and simmered for 20 minutes. Added salt and pepper to taste and continued simmering for 10 more minutes. Poured soup into bowls, added bread and covered with 2 slices of swiss cheese. Broiled until cheese melted and served. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kattigan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
I didn't follow it to the T - I didn't heat the broth on a separate pan, I just poured it right in. I also used butter instead of vegetable oil because that's what I had in hand. I used a normal drinking white wine that I had from my friends hanging out at my place. To be honest, I haven't had french onion soup for about 5 years I don't really remember what it's suppose to taste like. I was happy with what I got though! I didn't do the topping part, I just got bread and dipped it (cheese and butter was spread on the toasted wheat bread) like I used to back at a restaurant I used to goto. It was still really good. I'm glad I found another use for my wine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States