Lance's French Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Yum, yum, the best French Onion Soup I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
Great flavor, even the kids liked it. It was a bit salty but I attribute that to the broth I used. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Wow!! This recipe was fab! I added 2 cloves of garlic when satueeing the onions, as well as 1/2 pound of fresh mushrooms. And, I used red white instead of white, as well as 2 Tbsp. of ground, dried basil. My husband RAVED about it!!!! Will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Delicious - I find myself making this just for me during the middle of the week... I do add a dash of worcestershire, and omit the white sugar, and I carmelize my onions with brown sugar and add the white wine to that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
This was my first try at FOS... and it was fantabulous! I watched the video posted on this website before attempting it and I combined the two recipes. I heated up some olive oil and butter in a dutch oven, added the onions and sauteed until golden brown. Added wine and cooked until the alcohol burned off. Added sugar and tossed until well coated. Added beef broth, covered and simmered for 20 minutes. Added salt and pepper to taste and continued simmering for 10 more minutes. Poured soup into bowls, added bread and covered with 2 slices of swiss cheese. Broiled until cheese melted and served. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kattigan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
I didn't follow it to the T - I didn't heat the broth on a separate pan, I just poured it right in. I also used butter instead of vegetable oil because that's what I had in hand. I used a normal drinking white wine that I had from my friends hanging out at my place. To be honest, I haven't had french onion soup for about 5 years I don't really remember what it's suppose to taste like. I was happy with what I got though! I didn't do the topping part, I just got bread and dipped it (cheese and butter was spread on the toasted wheat bread) like I used to back at a restaurant I used to goto. It was still really good. I'm glad I found another use for my wine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by annie.oakley
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
I used 3 1/2 onions, sauteed it in olive oil until it was close to transparent, then added the sugar. Added the wine (chardonnay) and when it was thoroughly clear, used a 32oz box of beef broth (that scaled it down to about 4 servings rather than 6). Then added salt, pepper, and a pinch of cayenne for some kick to it. I also toasted the bread before I put it into the soup and used deli sliced (reduced fat) provolone cheese as the topper. Garnished with sliced green onions on top of the cheese. Popped it in the microwave and voila! Looks wonderful and tastes SOOOO GOOODDD!!!! Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annie.oakley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garden Grove, California, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
It has been a long time since I have made French onion soup. This recipe filled the bill, when I had many onions leftover from a luncheon. One guest had never tried French onion soup. He loved it. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
Let me start with the statement that my fiance doesn't like french onion soup. He agreed to try this version, and has actually asked me to make it again... I don't put the bread on top of the soup, but I do put in plenty of cheese and we have bread to dip on the side. I find it a bit sweet, even without the sugar, so may try to find a wine thats not so sweet the next time. But it is still a quick, easy meal that reheats well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
The was so easy and tasted just as good as ANY restaurant's French Onion soup! I used a blend of asiago, mozzarella, and provolone cheeses for the bread but only because I am not a fan swiss cheese. I will DEFINITELY use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States