Lance's French Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
Delicious! French onion soup is one of those things that I try everywhere I go in hopes of finding "the best" and this recipe is awesome! The only changes I made were to only use 3 onions, and used half Marsala wine and half Sherry in place of the white wine - I like my soup a little sweeter so this was perfect for me. I also didn't have swiss cheese so I used sliced provolone. It was ok, but I'm still in search of the perfect cheese topping. All in all this is a fantastic recipe and very easy to whip up at home when I have a craving for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda 'Machmiller' Kiner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Excellent...I will make it for guest tonight. My husband did not like Frence Onion Soup until he tried this, now he is a fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lumberton, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Milford, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Very good - I would use less wine (personal taste) and use more onions next time. I used half butter and half olive oil to sautee the onions and it was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
My daughter begs me to make this soup! I use low sodium beef broth and brown sugar and wheat bread....but the basic recipe is the bomb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glenwood Springs, Colorado, USA
Living In: Greenwood, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Great soup! Only used three onions. Also, the beef broth cooked down, so I will add an additional two more cups next time. Easy and fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
4 stars as written but since I also used Kattigan's suggestions below which make it a 5 star recipe. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Lance's French Onion Soup was great. I made it for my son and his wife for lunch. I guess my son really liked it. He ate 3 bowls. I added a bit of garlic and because I did not have any beef stock, I used bovril and added a bit more water. It was delicious, and I will certainly make it again. Colleen - Ontario Canada
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mount Hope, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Fantastic! The only modifications I made were to use a gluten free broth and then broiled it with just the cheese to make it a gluten free recipe, fantastic flavor. Next time I wll try it with some homemade gluten free bread to see how it works out, but it is great with just the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
This is so simple and so delish!! I used 4 onions that were medium sized instead of five, otherwise I followed this recipe exactly. Very godo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
We loved this soup! The only changes we made were using olive oil instead of vegetable oil and using gruyère cheese instead of swiss cheese. Both of those changes were personal preference. It is mild but you can taste all the different flavors. We make a lot since we have about 2 bowls each!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States