Lance's French Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
OMG! Great,easy,perfect soup! Used asiago and swiss for the topper! Plain old yellow onions worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SSwisher
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Good, solid french soup recipe that is easy to customize to your family's liking. I cut the fat in this recipe (I often do with a good non-stick pan). I used 1 tablespoon each of EVOO and light butter. It took about 45 minutes for my onions to caramelize and then I added the wine. Since I used a sweeter white, I did not add the sugar. Once the wine reduced (about 10 minutes), I added the beef broth, salt and pepper. After simmering for about 20 minutes I tasted. The flavor was good, but not quite flavorful enough for me. So I added about a tablespoon of resh thyme and a teaspoon of beef crystals. Although this was tasty, I'll try another recipe next time. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
make toast place on cookie sheet with cheese and broil. Serve cheese toast on side
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
One of the best we have had, just right on the flavor meter thanks Lance!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
As several others noted, I used wine that I had available, which was a Merlot. Not sure you can go wrong with any variations on this recipe. Perfect onion soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
i know it's french onion, but it did seem to have too much onion if that's possible, i think i'd cut down on the number of onions i use or the size next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
Absolutely delicious. I omitted the wine and added some garlic. The best I have ever had. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimmer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
I loved the recipe, but did make a few changes. I used 64oz of beef broth, 2&1/2 tsp beef bouillon, and used a mixture of shredded Swiss, mozzarella, and Parmesan cheese. I also omitted the wine. I used a mixture of 3 sweet and 2 yellow onions. It was sweet enough that I could have left out the sugar. Yummy soup that had my husband going back for thirds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KPinck

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
I think it was good, little to sweet for us..we like things more salty. It did taste better the next day tho. Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moon77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Amazing! It was so simple to make and absolutely delicious. I made the recipe as quoted in the recipe and it turned out delicious. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerry Lynn Dickson
Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States