Lance's French Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 18, 2012
Absolutely delicious. I omitted the wine and added some garlic. The best I have ever had. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimmer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
I loved the recipe, but did make a few changes. I used 64oz of beef broth, 2&1/2 tsp beef bouillon, and used a mixture of shredded Swiss, mozzarella, and Parmesan cheese. I also omitted the wine. I used a mixture of 3 sweet and 2 yellow onions. It was sweet enough that I could have left out the sugar. Yummy soup that had my husband going back for thirds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KPinck

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
I think it was good, little to sweet for us..we like things more salty. It did taste better the next day tho. Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moon77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Amazing! It was so simple to make and absolutely delicious. I made the recipe as quoted in the recipe and it turned out delicious. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
This soup turned out perfectly. I would make no changes. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tmay85

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Best I've ever had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
First time I ever made french onion soup and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DoremiGirl
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Great recipe! I made a few adjustments: Since my beef broth was homemade, I added 2 sprigs of {fresh} Thyme and Parsley in the broth after the onion had been added. I also added 1/4 cup white wine and 1/4 cup Marsala wine. My family liked that I used Gruyere cheese! Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DoremiGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
Can you say "Awesome"......I changed it a tiny bit as well.....I added garlic and used red wine instead of white because that's what I had on hand.....and it was Terrific !! I also must include how easy it is to make....I will be making it all the time :))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
Delicious! French onion soup is one of those things that I try everywhere I go in hopes of finding "the best" and this recipe is awesome! The only changes I made were to only use 3 onions, and used half Marsala wine and half Sherry in place of the white wine - I like my soup a little sweeter so this was perfect for me. I also didn't have swiss cheese so I used sliced provolone. It was ok, but I'm still in search of the perfect cheese topping. All in all this is a fantastic recipe and very easy to whip up at home when I have a craving for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACHMILA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States