Lance's French Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
My boyfriend loves French Onion Soup so I decided to make it for him. This recipe was spot on. The only change was adding four beef boiillon cubes and letting it cook in a slow cooker all afternoon. He said it was the best he ever had and trust me, that is a huge compliment since he orders this all the time when we go out. I saved this recipe to my Favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nettles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
This is absolutely superb! I try very hard to review the original recipe but didn't have white win and can't afford to go buy some so used red instead which gave it a great full-bodied taste. Since the original recipe doesn't state what size of onions to use, I used large which gave a LOT of onions versus the amount of broth. It was delicious as is but I'll likely adjust that a bit next time. I made both the "Basic Beef Stock" recipe by Wolverine and "Italian Bread Using Bread Machine" by Destiny which were great as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
So ridiculously simple yet SO GOOD!! Only two little changes - I added a bit of wine while cooking the onions (everything's better with more wine, right?), and I didn't add sugar to the onions. I used yellow onions and they ended being sweet enough on their own. Made some homemade croutons and added the cheese and OH MY GOD so good! I made this as an appetizer before a 9 hour pot roast... pot roast came out fine, but I would've been happy with just the soup :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Love this French onion soup, no changes required.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Yummy. I used a piece of texas toast instead of the french bread. The flavor of the broth was not as "beefy" in flavor as I would have liked. This can be related to the broth that I used. This is still yummy and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by opheliamiller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
This recipe is incredible. I made it exactly per the instructions. I used onions right out of my garden. This recipe is my reason for growing onions now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Had left over french onion roast I had made the day before and never made french onion soup. I used the juice and onions left over from the roast and added beef stock and onions. This was quite easy and instead of wine I used beer. I will be making again love,love, love recipes that let me use my leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
This is really solid. I made a double batch and froze the rest, which makes for easy meals in the future! it tastes good on reheat too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Best french onion soup I have ever had, and I've had a lot. I love french onion soup. I didn't have any bread when I made it, so I used seasoned croutons (the kind that come in a bag - the big ones - I think they were cheese flavored?). Anyway - it was AMAZING! I think I'll only use croutons from now on. I put them in and poured the onions and broth over them. Also, I loved that the croutons were perfect spoon-sized, so no need to cut up the bread. Used regular yellow onions and italian blend shredded cheese. It was unbelievable....serve with texas toast (with cheese of course), a glass of red wine and a roaring fire in the fireplace. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
OMG! Great,easy,perfect soup! Used asiago and swiss for the topper! Plain old yellow onions worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States