Lance's French Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
This recipe is incredible. I made it exactly per the instructions. I used onions right out of my garden. This recipe is my reason for growing onions now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Had left over french onion roast I had made the day before and never made french onion soup. I used the juice and onions left over from the roast and added beef stock and onions. This was quite easy and instead of wine I used beer. I will be making again love,love, love recipes that let me use my leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
This is really solid. I made a double batch and froze the rest, which makes for easy meals in the future! it tastes good on reheat too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Best french onion soup I have ever had, and I've had a lot. I love french onion soup. I didn't have any bread when I made it, so I used seasoned croutons (the kind that come in a bag - the big ones - I think they were cheese flavored?). Anyway - it was AMAZING! I think I'll only use croutons from now on. I put them in and poured the onions and broth over them. Also, I loved that the croutons were perfect spoon-sized, so no need to cut up the bread. Used regular yellow onions and italian blend shredded cheese. It was unbelievable....serve with texas toast (with cheese of course), a glass of red wine and a roaring fire in the fireplace. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
OMG! Great,easy,perfect soup! Used asiago and swiss for the topper! Plain old yellow onions worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SSwisher
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Good, solid french soup recipe that is easy to customize to your family's liking. I cut the fat in this recipe (I often do with a good non-stick pan). I used 1 tablespoon each of EVOO and light butter. It took about 45 minutes for my onions to caramelize and then I added the wine. Since I used a sweeter white, I did not add the sugar. Once the wine reduced (about 10 minutes), I added the beef broth, salt and pepper. After simmering for about 20 minutes I tasted. The flavor was good, but not quite flavorful enough for me. So I added about a tablespoon of resh thyme and a teaspoon of beef crystals. Although this was tasty, I'll try another recipe next time. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
make toast place on cookie sheet with cheese and broil. Serve cheese toast on side
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
One of the best we have had, just right on the flavor meter thanks Lance!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
As several others noted, I used wine that I had available, which was a Merlot. Not sure you can go wrong with any variations on this recipe. Perfect onion soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
i know it's french onion, but it did seem to have too much onion if that's possible, i think i'd cut down on the number of onions i use or the size next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States