Lance's French Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naenoel
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I added some beef bullion paste, but followed everything else. Perfect on a cold day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
This is a simple, basic soup recipe that leaves itself open to all kinds of tweaking. The sugar was unnecessary but a clove or two of garlic is a must-have. My tweaks also included a bit of ground red pepper, celery seed, and white pepper. A dash of Worcestershire or Maggi will be added next time I make this. When I served it, I simply grated some fresh Parmesan on top (no bread, trying to cut carbs) and it was a pleasant, earthy taste to the sweet onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
Loved the soup. Added bay leaves and red wine instead of white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Easy Recipe, I made half pearl onions and half spanish, ended up fantastic! Definitely something I will make again. We don't have the bowls for broiling. Next time, I will put the bread in the oven with the cheese on top and then add it to the soup at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
Wow!! My family and I loved it. What a great recipe. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
My boyfriend loves French Onion Soup so I decided to make it for him. This recipe was spot on. The only change was adding four beef boiillon cubes and letting it cook in a slow cooker all afternoon. He said it was the best he ever had and trust me, that is a huge compliment since he orders this all the time when we go out. I saved this recipe to my Favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nettles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
This is absolutely superb! I try very hard to review the original recipe but didn't have white win and can't afford to go buy some so used red instead which gave it a great full-bodied taste. Since the original recipe doesn't state what size of onions to use, I used large which gave a LOT of onions versus the amount of broth. It was delicious as is but I'll likely adjust that a bit next time. I made both the "Basic Beef Stock" recipe by Wolverine and "Italian Bread Using Bread Machine" by Destiny which were great as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
So ridiculously simple yet SO GOOD!! Only two little changes - I added a bit of wine while cooking the onions (everything's better with more wine, right?), and I didn't add sugar to the onions. I used yellow onions and they ended being sweet enough on their own. Made some homemade croutons and added the cheese and OH MY GOD so good! I made this as an appetizer before a 9 hour pot roast... pot roast came out fine, but I would've been happy with just the soup :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Love this French onion soup, no changes required.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Yummy. I used a piece of texas toast instead of the french bread. The flavor of the broth was not as "beefy" in flavor as I would have liked. This can be related to the broth that I used. This is still yummy and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by opheliamiller

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States