Lancashire Hot Pot Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
Waiting to see how it came out...used a lot of thyme for flavor, hope it turns out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
This was absolutely delicious. After reading some other reviews I made the following changes: I did not used sliced potatoes underneath, but put chunks of raw potatoes in with the meat and added carrot pieces. I used dried thyme and oregano, added a bay leaf and a splash of Worcestershire sauce.. I used beef broth and thickened it with flour to make the gravy thicker. I enjoyed the crunchy potato topping. Leftovers are amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATHY SINK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
I've made it twice now and really enjoyed it. As an American, I made a slight tweak in that I substituted sweet potatoes for the white potatoes. They cooked very nicely and kept their shape. I added bay leaves and used beef broth rather than chicken (no lamb stock available). I also added some dry sack and Worchestershire sauce. Both added a real depth of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
I used leftover cooked lamb so I had to modify cooking times. I should have also reduced the amount of liquid if I wanted consistency of a stew, but the flavours were just great as a lamb soup. I added green beans for colour and nutrition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
I have made this for years, you definitely need to add bay leaves to the liquid and worstersauce, a couple of tablespoons. I also use lamb cutlets either neck, and other cuts with bone for flavour and i cover this in seasoned flour before lightly frying, this helps thicken the gravy while cooking. I cover the dish in tinfoil until the potatoes are soft and only take off at the end to crisp them up, maybe adding a bit more butter.... very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Delicious and very simple
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
I usually add 1-2 sliced Carrots to my hot pot, and I fry the potatoes in the Lamb juice. Then I put them on top of the Lamb, carrots, onions and stock (but not in the stock) Then bake for an hour. And I also add a tablespoon of mint sauce too, tastes great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
My husband and I liked this but we both felt it was lacking something. If I where to make this again I would have to add things to amp up the flavor. Also potatoes on top were hard and crispy, Maybe it needs more stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
this turned out really weird. the top potatoes didnt cook very well and were crispy. and the bottom part was VERY salty. we didnt eat it all. maybe less salt and more liquid
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Foreman House

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
Overall quite good. The only thing I wish I had done was cook it a bit longer so that the meat was more tender. I think it would have been wonderful then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairborn, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States