Lana's Sweet and Sour Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Great recipe- easy to make and delicious- my whole family loved it and are excited for leftovers tomorrow! Followed the sauce part closely (I never add all the salt, maybe 1/4 of what recipe recommends and I used regular salt, and probably only 2-3x the cornstarch). I did 4x the sauce as I had a lot of meatballs (probably double this recipe, homemade ones in the freezer, Meatball Nirvana recipe from AR). I came home at lunch, quickly mixed up the sauce ingredients and poured them over the frozen meatballs in a slow cooker, on medium heat for 4 -5 hours. Some meatballs mushed into meat sauce but most held their shape. I am sure storebought ones would hold up better, but these tasted better!! This will become my go-to sweet and sour recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
We've made this recipe so many times and it's excellent! I have made it as is and also several times with modifications. This does make a lot of meatballs so unless you plan on attending a party or freezing some of them, I would cut the recipe for the meatballs in half (I usually do this and still end up with ~30 meatballs!) but keep the sauce the same. In the past, I've substituted ground chicken for ground beef and it tasted great! I've also substituted ground oatmeal for the breadcrumbs. Since the breadcrumbs serve as a binder it doesn't really affect the overall taste of the recipe and it turns out a bit healthier too! The meal is a great both with and without veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
Doubled the sauce and had ground turkey on hand and no bell peppers. I liked it and will make it again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
I omitted the eggs and the white sugar from the meatballs but followed the rest to a tee and my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
Meatballs were great, flavorful. Sauce was great as well. I had to use flour instead of cornstarch as it's what I had on hand. I also used fresh pineapple so I didn't have any juice. I used the juice from a can of pears to make sure the sauce turned out ok. Satisfied my craving, I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Duvall, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Fantastic. Sauce is a little sparse for the amount of meatballs. Almost worth doubling the sauce, alternatively cut the number of meatballs. (That's the difference between 4 & 5 stars)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
The recipe is excellent. I just cook for two so I cut the meatball part in half and I doubled the sauce and served over rice. I still had a lot left over, but it was just as good as leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
First time ever that I made sweet and sour meatballs. It was quick, easy, and delicious. I cut the recipe in half for two of us for dinner, but when I saw the number of meatballs it made I kept half of them out of the sauce to freeze for later. So basically I cut the sauce in half and it was the perfect amount. I didn't have a green pepper; I used cabbage instead - that worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I do love sweet and sour but never thought of doing it with meatballs....was looking up recipes for ground beef and this one came up. Just the inspiration I needed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheri

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
I made this for a small group adult dinner as an appetizer. Rave reviews!!! I didn't have the ginger, so I left it out - still a great alternative to the tomato based sauces for meatballs. I doubled it and cut a bit of the sugar. I precooked the sauce and then let it cook in my slow cooker with frozen turkey meat balls - A Winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 502) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States