Lana's Sweet and Sour Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Roy,jutqijgubnygrya fun
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
this was absolutely wonderful. i hate ground beef but these were fantastic! I used half the meat (about a500g or just over a pound of ground beef) and made the sauce as it is in the recipe. this way I did not take a chance of ending up with a lot of something that either did not work out, or I would not eat. Perfect amount of sauce with the meatballs for rice. The only thing I would change is to add a quarter teaspoon of crushed red pepper to give it some heat. thank you so much for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jake Wolf

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
This is so delicious! I made 33 large meatballs out of this recipe and filled an Anchor Hocking 9X13 glass dish. I doubled the liquid ingredients (all listed on the right-side from ingredients list above)and this turned out amazing. I also cooked it about 15 minutes longer since my meatballs were larger. Lastly, I used a whole fresh pineapple (I doubled) since they were on sale (only 1.99$) and I bought a container of pure pineapple juice. Hope you all enjoy this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah McLellan
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
This is easy and tasty and I just used frozen meatballs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
VERY yummy!!! I will make this again and again. The sauce recipe is awesome and better than any store bought I have had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Meatballs were great!!!!! :) but the sauce tasted A bit off..maybe too much cornstarch??? Anyone else had that taste?? Added a extra egg-moist delish meatballs!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Very good sweet and sour sauce, but a little too sweet. I'd cut the brown sugar down to about 1/3 cup next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Castle Rock, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Great recipe- easy to make and delicious- my whole family loved it and are excited for leftovers tomorrow! Followed the sauce part closely (I never add all the salt, maybe 1/4 of what recipe recommends and I used regular salt, and probably only 2-3x the cornstarch). I did 4x the sauce as I had a lot of meatballs (probably double this recipe, homemade ones in the freezer, Meatball Nirvana recipe from AR). I came home at lunch, quickly mixed up the sauce ingredients and poured them over the frozen meatballs in a slow cooker, on medium heat for 4 -5 hours. Some meatballs mushed into meat sauce but most held their shape. I am sure storebought ones would hold up better, but these tasted better!! This will become my go-to sweet and sour recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
We've made this recipe so many times and it's excellent! I have made it as is and also several times with modifications. This does make a lot of meatballs so unless you plan on attending a party or freezing some of them, I would cut the recipe for the meatballs in half (I usually do this and still end up with ~30 meatballs!) but keep the sauce the same. In the past, I've substituted ground chicken for ground beef and it tasted great! I've also substituted ground oatmeal for the breadcrumbs. Since the breadcrumbs serve as a binder it doesn't really affect the overall taste of the recipe and it turns out a bit healthier too! The meal is a great both with and without veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
Doubled the sauce and had ground turkey on hand and no bell peppers. I liked it and will make it again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 509) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States