Lamingtons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
I made the cake as directed but with only 2 tsp of baking powder as suggested in other reviews and I baked it at 350 for about 25-30 minutes. It came out great and the icing/decorating went well too, only the icing isn't drying. I made them this morning and they're still wet now in the late afternoon. I probably did something wrong, I just don't know what... The taste is nice though, added a little less sugar in the icing but it's still very sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stupid Girl
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Absolutely awful!! The recipe said to cook it between 30-40 minutes. It was already nearly burned after 25 minutes. The cookies/cakes didn't rise at all & they were dry as a bone.... didn't absorb the chocolate frosting either. The only good part was the frosting. It was very yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alyssa
Reviewed: May 25, 2013
I halved the recipe and made 6 cupcakes coz It's easier for me to dip the cake only at the top. I separated eggs, beat the egg whites and fold them in the batter to make the cake lighter. I gotta say I loved these more than store-bought ones. I'm in NZ btw. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyssa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Love the recipe! I found that I needed to keep the sponge in a deep dish and it should probably be a self-raising flour otherwise it turned a bit odd. I didn't leave the sponge overnight, but I put it in the freezer for 1/2 hour instead before carrying out the usual procedure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
After a trip to Australia I was addicted to these sweet little treats, this recipe was amazing I just need to master the art of chocolate coating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SaraAnderson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Galway, County Galway, Ireland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
I was living in Australia and loved Lamingtons. Now back in US and decided to try out. Following this recipe was very easy, however, my sponge cake grow so huge (4 tsp baking powder, really? All other recipes says only 2 tsp!) Cutting cake was also really hard, it was crumbling all over and pieces of cakes were left in chocolate icing. Worst part - it does not taste like Lamingtons at all! It just tastes plain and.. wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dimanta

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Rochester, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
I have my own cake business so what I did wrong on this recipe I do not know. I am also from Australia and this came out nothing like the ones I grew up on. It turned out almost bread like and had an unappealing taste and consistency, I did not even get to the chocolate part. I am going to try my own cake recipe with the chocolate part of this recipe to see how that works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
I am from N.E. Ohio and had no idea that these were original to Australia! I grew up with these in our bakeries and we just called them coconut bars. The overall taste is the same. I followed recipe and i also followed one comment that said to leave the cake out over night and I think that was a bad idea. It was too dry. I also think next time I would bake in oven for 25 minutes, not 30. The other tip is for the chocolate icing, I melted butter and milk and kept it over heat while I added the cocoa powder and con. sugar...was easier to reheat it when I needed too cauuse the icing tends to cool down quick and thicken and you need it thinner and fluidy....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
I am an Aussie and when I make lamingtons I put the cooked base cake into the freezer for about 15 minutes if I am a hurry, otherwise I store the cooked base cake in the refrigerator overnight. These two tips make it easier to cut and ice into lamingtons with no crumbs. The fork also holds the squares of cake better. Good icing in this. recipe. A another way I use the base cake is to simply ice it with chocolate icing and sprinkle with dessicated coconut. I also use this base for making trifles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
The most perfect and authentic lamington recipe in 20years
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States