Lamingtons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
It may help users to know that Australian colonial cooks used this recipe to freshen up STALE cake. Storing the cake overnight in a tin is sometimes not enough to firm the cake prior to icing. I suggest leaving it on the cooling rack, uncovered, on your kitchen bench overnight. This helps prevent the crumbling that one reviewer had problems with. Also cutting the cut into squares of not more than about 7cm helps. It is true that we Australians like to split the lamingtons in half and fill with whipped cream to make an old fashioned tea cake but some also like to split the cake before icing and sandwich the halves together again with a layer of strawberry jam. This is much easier to ice if your cake is quite firm. I have never met a lamington I did not like and this recipe is no exception!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
165 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2003
Great recipe. As an Aussie i have tasted my fair share and these were a hit at an "aussie themed party in vienna". i froze them before cutting and coating and it prevented any crumbling. worth giving a try again if it didn't turn out the first time. cut in bite size pieces for a party and freeze. can freeze with chocolate and coconut and take out in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2002
I am from Australia and this is a great Lamington recipe. These are traditionaly served split in half with cream in the middle, just like Nana used to make, yum. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2000
boo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
Love Lamingtons! The only variation i make is slice the already sliced un coated cake and spread strawberry preserve on one sied of each, then put it back together like a sandwich and then coat it with the choc and coconut. yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Desi's Delectables

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alice Springs, Northern Territory, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
I love this recipe! Easy to make, and tastes much nicer than store-bought lamingtons. I didn't have a 8x12 inch pan so I used a 9.5x12 inch pan instead and baked the cake for 25 minutes. I also followed another reviewers suggestion and left the cake uncovered overnight. I will be making this recipe again. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Adelaide, South Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2005
These were really good and fairly easy to make since I used store bought pound cake because I didn't have time to make a cake. I served them at an Australian International dinner and one of the guests was from Australia. His only critique was the size. I made the pieces bite-size but in Australia, Lamingtona are about 20 cm square (4 inches)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2000
These ended up tasting good, and my kids liked them, but I had a hard time making them. This is probably due more to my inexperience than with the recipe, but when I tried to dip the pieces of cake, they kept breaking off in the chocolate... Maybe some extra tips for us novices?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
delicious and a lot of fun to make with the kids! i'm an aussie and this recipe is authentic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2000
To paraphrase Marie Antoinette, this cake, properly presented, will most certainly be eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Homemade Twinkies

See how to make this classic snack cake from scratch!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States