Lamingtons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
Great recipe. It was pretty forgiving I think, as I'm almost positive I put too much flour by scooping it from the bag, but the end product was great! Although when plain they leave something to be desired. They're good, look good, and taste good, but they don't seem to be something you'd look forward to seeing in a desert shop. I cut into the bread for a couple of them and filled them with raspberry jam, and then put the top of the cutout piece back on top before coating them and those turned out quite good. Didn't have any strawberry jam on hand, and I'm sure those would be fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
I loved these lamingtons (I love chocolate in general), but my family found it too sweet--probably because I used sweetened coconut. Getting the cake out of the pan and coating it with chocolate was a little tough--it kept breaking apart. Besides that, yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
I used a chocolate dipper to get the sponge out of the chocolate sauce and it made it way easier- just the right amount stayed on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
The Lamington itself is sort of bland, but the icing for it makes a perfect match!! It was a hit at our dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: New Braunfels, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
My sister visited me when we lived in Australia and fell in love with lamingtons. When she came for a visit I figured I would make them for her and they went over better than I could have expected. I made the cakes in the morning and left them uncovered until the night when I cut them and finished making them into lamingtons and they turned out beautiful. I am now the official desert maker at family gatherings. Thanks for a stroll down memory lane.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
This is the most messy cake I have ever made in my life BUT once I found my little "method" things went pretty good. I used a long skewer and put on 4 pieces of cake, drop the icing on all of them with a spoon and while they were dripping the icing I started another skewer. Once the second was dripping I put the coconut on the first and I repeated until I actually ran out of icing and had some cake left over plain. The result is pretty yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaMiaItalia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
Ok first of all this cake really is yummy!! Now the reason that I gave it 3 stars was because it said to bake between 30 and 4o minutes. Had I done that the cake would've burnt to a crisp. It was ready in 20 minutes. And it was spongy just like you said. 2nd I let it cool like you said and used a fork to dip it in the chocolate but the cake kept breaking apart so I decided to use on hand to dip it in the chocolate and the other hand to roll it in the coconut. 3rd.. it was impossible to roll it in the coconut without the chocolate goop running over the rest of the coconut. Basicailly it was a sloppy mess. It doesn't look attractive on my cake dish at all. I mean it really is a yummy cake ... just not one that I would share with my friends because of the way it looks. Looks like a 6 year old made it. Oh well...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
So yummy! Made these for a party and everyone said they were like something they would go out and buy from a sweets shop or bakery! It's official though - I will only make these and take them to someone else's house or a party. I will no longer make these to entertain friends at my house... because I eat ALL of the leftovers. Very dangerous. So yummy though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
delicious and a lot of fun to make with the kids! i'm an aussie and this recipe is authentic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
I love this recipe! Easy to make, and tastes much nicer than store-bought lamingtons. I didn't have a 8x12 inch pan so I used a 9.5x12 inch pan instead and baked the cake for 25 minutes. I also followed another reviewers suggestion and left the cake uncovered overnight. I will be making this recipe again. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Adelaide, South Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States