Lamb and Winter Vegetable Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
we made this, but switched out the veggies for basics: carrots, squash, celery, potatoes. didn't have sour cream so we used yogurt. it was fantastic! we're definitely making this a regular staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juliana Spaven

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
I made this with a left over leg of lamb and it was amazing. I did not add the sour cream and flour. I will definitely be making this again. I'm sure it would be just as delicious with beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
I like lamb, and I like my veggies. I followed the instructions, but something was just "off" with this one. Too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
LOVE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
I liked the recipe overall, but I dislike parsnips so I omitted them. I used two bay leaves instead of one and added a few shopped cloves of garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
My husband doesn't normally enjoy lamb, but he liked this recipe. I made a few substitutions, given what I had on hand: - broth: we had no beef broth, so I made my own by boiling the lamb in 8 cups of filtered water (it boiled down to a smaller amount over time) - meat: I added diced turkey kielbasa for added flavour - veggies: I added butternut squash and whole baby carrots (we were low on veggies that night) - without sour cream on hand, Greek yogurt made a great alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
This was delicious. I prepared it almost exactly as written. Just added some carrot, which I had on hand, and subbed greek yogurt for the sour cream. It was very sweet from the root vegetables and not too rich. Great comfort food for a chilly winter night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katjanas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
When I served this I forgot to add the cornstarch/flour and sour cream, but DH really liked it! Added the sour cream and cornstarch after the meal. DH took it for lunch the next day but did NOT like the addition, hence four stars. (The photo with the recipe does not appear to have sour cream in it either.) As did other reviewers, I added carrots and cooked it in the crockpot. Will definitely make again, but without adding sour cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Frankfort, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
I'm happy I doubled this! I used homemade lamb stock instead of beef and simmered misc lamb soup bones in the liquid and herbs / garlic / seasonings for a while to soften them instead of using stew cubes. I also used plain yogurt instead of sour cream - yogurt and lamb are a natural pair for me, and it's also what I had on hand! The veggies make for a delicious sweet flavour. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I love a great recipe that uses in season vegetables! This dish was perfect and will be a winter staple for me and my husband from here on out. I modified as follows: added rosemary and extra garlic for seasoning; used fennel rather than celery, only b/c my market did not have organic celery, but I think the fennel worked very well and I will continue using it for this dish; used 4 cups of beef broth; the vegetables were ready after 20 minutes rather than 30 minutes; I used greek yogurt rather than sour cream and it had a little trouble mixing into the dish, but this did not affect the dish in any major way. Served with a slice of buttered, fresh bread. mmmm.mmmm.mmmm.good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Lamb Stew

See how to make a traditional, hearty Irish stew.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States