Lamb and Winter Vegetable Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
Love lamb stew, and this is a great variation. I had just started a traditional carrot-onion-potato stew when I decided to switch. 2.5 lb cubed lamb browned in flour and pepper,beef broth, bay leaves and thyme - one yukon gold potato, a small portobello mushroom, handful of baby carrots and pearl onions, then added half a leftover baked sweet potato, a large parsnip, a cup of diced butternut -- baked in a covered casserole 2-3 hours. The house smells heavenly, tastes wonderful, and it'll be even better tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
This was yummy! My family doesn't like squash or sweet potatoes but they really liked this recipe. It was a nice change from our usual.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Snohomish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
Good recipe... I added more vegetable to my stew. And it still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
I used beef instead of lamb. It was good. I'd never had parsnips before or butternut squash so this was really new to me. I also had a lot of leftover veggies I didn't use so, I chopped them up and blanched them for 3 min. Then measured out the required amounts for the recipe and put it all in a Ziplock bag and froze it. Now all I have to do next time is drop in the contents of the bag and there will be no peeling or chopping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anjilee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Americus, Kansas, USA
Living In: Iuka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
Absolutely yummy. I've been eating this all week (I used some leg of lamb I had already cooked). I add the sour cream to each serving, rather than put it all in earlier. And I used celery root rather than actual celery because I had some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
One winner of a recipe Brandy! This powerhouse of nutrition was a huge hit with my family. In addition to the vegetables stated, I added a turnip, kale, red potatoes, leeks and carrots. I also threw in some fresh chopped parsley and dill. Comfort food to the max and a great way to use up leftover lamb. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
This is scrumptious on a cold winter evening!! I used beef instead of lamb, an extra sweet potato to replace the butternut squash, added a bag of baby spinach, and used low fat sour cream. The veggies give a wonderful taste (don't skip the parsnips -- they have a unique flavor). Thanks for a great recipe that I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
I was very surprised at howw good this was, even if I didn't make it precisely to directions. I used stew beef instead of lamb, which is hard to find here. I also forgot to temper the sour cream mixture. But it was very good anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chairman James

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Breckenridge Hills, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
This recipe requires quite a bit of prep work and is time consuming but it is definitely worth the effort. The tastes blend perfectly together. I made it exactly as directed and I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
This is very good. I use beef as it is easier to find but otherwise make it true to the recipe. This is much tastier than traditional beef stew with more nutrients too. I find myself craving this stew reguarly, and even my husband who does not like squash and sweet potatoes loves this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Lamb Stew

See how to make a traditional, hearty Irish stew.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Lamb Tagine

Lamb is stewed in Moroccan spices until moist and tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States