Lamb and Winter Vegetable Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
Perfect just as written, add a loaf of sourdough bread, a cold and rainy night and a glass of your favorite red. Makes for a terrific evening. Thanx for a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terry ny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
Tasty and filling. Did in crockpot. Forgot to add butternut but i roasted it and threw it in later. The parsnips and squash were so good with lamb. I thought the sour cream would be strange but it was really good. I added some curry powder out of personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
So good! I am vegetarian so I took out the meat, and left out the parsnips. Even without the richness of meat, this was absolutely delicious. I also put in a little less red wine, as I was worried it would taste too strong. It was thick, hearty and had a great flavour. We ate it in one night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
I don't normally like winter vegetables (who decided on the name "parsnip?" It just doesn't sound edible) and my husband and son won't usually touch them; but this recipe was a hit with the whole family. I left out the lamb and served it with homemade dark wheat bread. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
Delicious! Very filling, with an interesting flavor. I used carrots instead of parsnips, and it still tasted wonderful. I served it with baked sweet potatos on the side. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Venice, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
An excellent lamb stew with lots of different flavors. Sweet, earthy, smooth and creamy. I prefer mine with more fresh ground pepper. This is definitely a keeper! Thanks for a great recipe! Make it gluten free use 6 tsp of Arrowroot Starch instead of the flour. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2007
Oh my gosh this was so tasty! Although I did tweak it a little to suit my personal taste. I'm not a big wine fan so reduced it by half and incresed the broth to make up for it. Not a hug celery fan either so I reduced that by half too. The sour cream = brilliant! This dish is so great it'll be a regular this winter! Added some biscuits on the side for a perfect compliment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QUINNY2706

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
Oh my! I feel the need to add my 2 cents since this was absolutely delicious! I've never cooked with butternut or parsnips so I was mildly skeptical but kept an open mind. Glad I did!!! Followed the recipe almost to a tee but when I doubled it, I was short on butternut so I used 2 c. butternut and 2 c. carrots. Good flavor. Also used dry thyme instead of fresh. Would make again in a heartbeat and next time might try the frozen beef stew meat in my freezer just because I have it already. This was fantastic!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Andover, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Fuquay Varina, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
This is very good. I use beef as it is easier to find but otherwise make it true to the recipe. This is much tastier than traditional beef stew with more nutrients too. I find myself craving this stew reguarly, and even my husband who does not like squash and sweet potatoes loves this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
This recipe requires quite a bit of prep work and is time consuming but it is definitely worth the effort. The tastes blend perfectly together. I made it exactly as directed and I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Lamb Stew

See how to make a traditional, hearty Irish stew.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Lamb Tagine

Lamb is stewed in Moroccan spices until moist and tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States