Lamb and Winter Vegetable Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Outfreakinstanding. New favorite lamb stew. Oh my. Just a few tips... Shouldn't need additional oil for the lamb. Remove the lamb and use that oil to saute the carrot or parsnip (make sure it 's peeled), onion, and celery, then add the garlic. Remove any excess oil at this time. Add the spices and lamb meat back in, turn the heat up to high, add the wine for a minute or so (I'd recommend adding half again as much - 1/2 c extra), then add the stock. There's really no need to wait to add the other vegetables, but you can if you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Great recipe - I substituted potatoes for sweet potatoes because that's what I had and did add extra broth because it looked like it needed it -- but once it was done I think it would have been fine with the original amount. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
AMAZING!! My family loves lamb, but we have a hard time getting them to eat veggies.......not any more. One son gobbled two helpings and the other finished everything on his first. Mission possible and my new fav stew recipe. I sauted the onion and celery with the meat after about 5 minues, doubled the recipe and tripled the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
We love stews and usually stick to traditional hearty beef/venison stews. We got take the leftover lamb home from passover though and I decided to find something new. BOY THIS WAS YUMMY!!! Perhaps it helped that the lamb was superbly roasted. As far as i know, it was roasted with garlic and cloves, probably some other stuff too so there was extra flavor in ours. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
Bland! Required additional seasoning. The lamb was definitely tender, but there was too much Butternut Squash for my own taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
This was good recipe my lamb fell right apart, But this recipe had really no flavor I had to season when it was done. I will cook again and tweak the original.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
This is a really solid recipe. Interestingly the strength of it comes from the sour cream and sugar in the vegetables, not from any spices or procedure. I substituted a dark beer for the red wine, turkey broth for beef, added some carrots and fresh parsley. This is a hearty and good-for-you meal, very tasty, but I think it could have used a little bit more character in terms of spicing. Since I don't cook with lamb very much (ever) I'm not positive what it needs. Maybe some rosemary or spritz of dill?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DannyBoy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, New York, USA
Living In: Ashland, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
I LOVED this stew but my husband thought it was "OK" so I took off one star. I used beef since my grocery store had no lamb except an entire $40 leg. I doubles the recipe since you can't really get 1 cup of parsnips and 1 sweet potato is about double and same with a small butternut squash. Thought this was great and fairly healthy too. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Friendswood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
Excellent lamb stew! I made this using the leftovers from a roast leg of lamb. I used what was on hand - carrots instead of parsnips, leftover roast potatoes instead of squash, a few extra bits of sweet potato to make up for lack of volume in the veggie department... it turned out FABULOUSLY! Served over couscous, it was just to die for. So, in addition to being a tasty and satisfying dish, I'd say this also qualifies as an extremely forgiving recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Helena, Montana, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
This stew was fantastic. The sour cream really added a nice smoothness and flavor. The winter veggies are also a little bit different from the traditional carrots and potatoes. All together, a wonderful addition to my recipe book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Irish Lamb Stew

See how to make a traditional, hearty Irish stew.

How to Make Lamb Meatballs

See how to make baked lamb meatballs simmered in a simple tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States