Lamb and Winter Vegetable Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I made this a day ahead for a casual dinner party, doubled recipe. I dredged the meat (plus bones) in flour, s&p before searing. Removed meat, reserved remaining fat, deglazed with 1/2 c. red wine. Sauteed onion, parsnips celery and herbs in reserved fat, adding garlic for last 2 minutes. When veggies were tender,returned meat, bones and any juices to pot. Added 4 c. broth, 3 c. wine and boil to cook off alcohol. Added squash, omitted sweet potatoes, doubled white potatoes. Brought to boil, simmered @ 1 1/2 hrs. Served it the next evening -- no leftovers. Didn't need any extra flour or sour cream. Yum. This is a pretty rich, slightly sweet stew. Glad I left out the sweet potatoes! Served arugula, endive and radicchio salad with lemon/olive oil dressing and crusty bread. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This is a fantastic stew. I feel almost cheap rating it because I didn't even use the correct meat (I used beef), but I'm sure it would be even better with lamb. I followed the recipe exactly except for adding more veggies (carrots, red potatoes) in addition to those listed, and increased the liquid slightly because of the addition, although I wouldn't do that next time. Even my picky toddler devoured every bite! Thank you for a great winter stew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Very good made with venison instead of lamb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Delicious! Nixed the parsnips, used red potatoes instead as another reviewer suggested and eliminated sweet potatoes. Thank you for a yummy, cold weather dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Loved this stew, I wasn't sure using sweet potatoes, turnips and squash, but it was great! I froze the leftovers for later in the winter when we want comfort food, but coudn't wait, ate it the next week. Making another batch today. YUMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Just delish! I can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blancdeblanc
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
This was delicious and easy using the crockpot. The seasoning was just right. I served the sour cream on the side instead of adding, and added a salad and bread for quick weekday meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Waitsburg, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
AWESOME!!!! Super yummy. WAY better than traditional beef stew. Not nearly as gristly. I added cilantro b/c I love it. Turned out great. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
This is a wonderful recipe. I made a few changes. I doubled the broth and wine. I cooked the onion and celery in oil until tender, then added the lamb,browning on all sides. I then stirred in the wine to deglaze the pan and added the beef broth, and spices and simmered for about 1 hour. Then, I stirred in vegetables and cooked until tender (about 20 minutes) I doubled the flour and mixed with a little water to make a slurry. I stirred in the slurry, brought to a boil and cooked for 1 minute. Then, I stirred in the sour cream (doubled again) and heated through. If you boil the sour cream, it separates a bit. Enjoy all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cazenovia, New York, USA
Living In: Manlius, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
Very tastey! I used more veggies than it called for but it was still awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Lamb Stew

See how to make a traditional, hearty Irish stew.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States