Lamb and Winter Vegetable Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
When I served this I forgot to add the cornstarch/flour and sour cream, but DH really liked it! Added the sour cream and cornstarch after the meal. DH took it for lunch the next day but did NOT like the addition, hence four stars. (The photo with the recipe does not appear to have sour cream in it either.) As did other reviewers, I added carrots and cooked it in the crockpot. Will definitely make again, but without adding sour cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Frankfort, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
I'm happy I doubled this! I used homemade lamb stock instead of beef and simmered misc lamb soup bones in the liquid and herbs / garlic / seasonings for a while to soften them instead of using stew cubes. I also used plain yogurt instead of sour cream - yogurt and lamb are a natural pair for me, and it's also what I had on hand! The veggies make for a delicious sweet flavour. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I love a great recipe that uses in season vegetables! This dish was perfect and will be a winter staple for me and my husband from here on out. I modified as follows: added rosemary and extra garlic for seasoning; used fennel rather than celery, only b/c my market did not have organic celery, but I think the fennel worked very well and I will continue using it for this dish; used 4 cups of beef broth; the vegetables were ready after 20 minutes rather than 30 minutes; I used greek yogurt rather than sour cream and it had a little trouble mixing into the dish, but this did not affect the dish in any major way. Served with a slice of buttered, fresh bread. mmmm.mmmm.mmmm.good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
just finished making this exactly as the recipe was written. Loved it and even my husband liked it. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
A winter favorite! Don't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharlene Evans

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
This is one of the yummiest stews I've ever made. I used sweet potatoes but I substituted some grilled zucchini, roasted red peppers & mushrooms for the parsnips and butternut squash. I was almost out of sour cream so I used cream cheese instead (thinned out with milk). I placed frozen biscuits on top and put the pot in a 350 oven for 20 minutes, until the biscuits were done. It was so yummy I felt like I was eating out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brio

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairview, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
This is awesome. My boyfriend WAAAY overate and then asked if I was trying to kill him via overfeeding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Love this and will definitely make it again. Tasty, healthy, easy and keeps well in the fridge/freezer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
This was delicious! I added in 2 Idaho potatoes as well, but otherwise I stuck to the recipe, except that I transferred it over to the crockpot. It was delicious even before adding the sour cream and flour and would not hesitate leaving it out, or just adding flour to thicken up the broth a bit, but the sweet potato had disintegrated , so that thickened things up. In the future, I might add that a little later, but I did have it in the crock a little longer than anticpated. Definitely will make it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Lamb Stew

See how to make a traditional, hearty Irish stew.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States