Lamb and Winter Vegetable Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
I lucked up on a nice package of lamb neck meat at the grocery store. I substituted sweet potato and butternut squash with calabash pumpkin and carrots, i added 1 small tomato, and 1 small red pepper instead of celery. Also used a few dried allspice berries - a standard for all of my soups and stew. Just a tasty stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: White Plains, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
We liked it, but I think it would be better with beef and less parsnip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
we made this, but switched out the veggies for basics: carrots, squash, celery, potatoes. didn't have sour cream so we used yogurt. it was fantastic! we're definitely making this a regular staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juliana Spaven

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
I made this with a left over leg of lamb and it was amazing. I did not add the sour cream and flour. I will definitely be making this again. I'm sure it would be just as delicious with beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
I like lamb, and I like my veggies. I followed the instructions, but something was just "off" with this one. Too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
LOVE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
I liked the recipe overall, but I dislike parsnips so I omitted them. I used two bay leaves instead of one and added a few shopped cloves of garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
My husband doesn't normally enjoy lamb, but he liked this recipe. I made a few substitutions, given what I had on hand: - broth: we had no beef broth, so I made my own by boiling the lamb in 8 cups of filtered water (it boiled down to a smaller amount over time) - meat: I added diced turkey kielbasa for added flavour - veggies: I added butternut squash and whole baby carrots (we were low on veggies that night) - without sour cream on hand, Greek yogurt made a great alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
This was delicious. I prepared it almost exactly as written. Just added some carrot, which I had on hand, and subbed greek yogurt for the sour cream. It was very sweet from the root vegetables and not too rich. Great comfort food for a chilly winter night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katjanas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
When I served this I forgot to add the cornstarch/flour and sour cream, but DH really liked it! Added the sour cream and cornstarch after the meal. DH took it for lunch the next day but did NOT like the addition, hence four stars. (The photo with the recipe does not appear to have sour cream in it either.) As did other reviewers, I added carrots and cooked it in the crockpot. Will definitely make again, but without adding sour cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Frankfort, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Irish Lamb Stew

See how to make a traditional, hearty Irish stew.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States