Lamb and Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
I was true to the recipe, with the exception of using raisins instead of currants. The recipe is superb -- with a Moroccan or North African twist. Its blend of lamb, spices, almonds and currants (raisins) give it a mellow, sweet, crunchy and heady flavor. This is all offset by the juiciness of the cabbage roll, braised slowly in a hint of tomato puree and silky chicken broth. It was a breeze to make, using Chef John's tips for steaming the cabbage to remove the leaves, plus his directions for shaping the meat into tiny loaves before stuffing and rolling the cabbage like a burrito. This recipe was unlike any other recipe on this site for stuffed cabbage and it was a joy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
This was a hit with my family. Making it agaIn tonight for the 2nd time in a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
I did a change with the rice; did a wild rice blend and it was great.. I over cooked the cabbage and the outer leaves fell apart; but it was still very good!! Definitely one I will do again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aputler
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Loved the flavor and texture of the rolls. Did a double batch and froze half. I did use a mix of ½ white rice and ½ wild rice. Made Baked Acorn Squash by Corwynn Darkholm (from this site) as a side. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aputler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
What a hit with the family! Absolutely love this recipe. I put basil in instead of oregano and used one 8 oz can of tomato sauce not puree. Also omitted the almonds and currants....but no matter if you follow it perfectly or make a few changes...it is delish! Put it in the oven and went on my merry way for an hour and a half...carb, protein and veggie all in one:) Served with green beans and rosemary garlic fresh baked bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin Taylor
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
I tried this and the flavor was good but the rice was not properly cooked. It was still hard and crunchy. Maybe it's because I didn't notice I should let it rest for 30 minutes after cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
Another fantastic Chef John recipe!! Made as is, except forgot the bay leaves. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marina Del Rey, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
It was better when I used uncooked rice as opposed to already cooked rice but amazing every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Plaquemine, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Wow never thought I'd love cabbage. Had a great deal on the ingredients so thought I'd try it out. Smelled great from the start. Made it pretty close to the recipe..though my tomatoe puree was a mix of veggies and tomatoes I had canned previously. Tomorrow I'll be prepping several for the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Incredible. Love lamb. What is not to love with a $1 cabbage and oooops $6.99/lb ground lamb. Absolutely delicious and the aroma from the spices in the warm pan.... lovely. Yes, chef, to put the spice in the oil is correct!!! Fat does distribute that through the meat more than actually putting it on the meat. I used 'Jasmine' rice, the only ingredient I changed. Absolute nirvanna with a stuffed cabbage. Thank you for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Geigertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States