Lamb and Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
I loved this recipe. So did my son and a guest. It is even better the next day. I am certainly going to make this again, now that I know how to make it. It is certainly a very versitile recipe. I think this recipe might work well using my large slow cooker (a Nesco) so I can leave during the cooking time. It really smells good while cooking. I love the spices! I had gone to our local Farmer's market the day before and had brought home some fresh ground lamb, a red cabbage, a fennel bulb, and some hickory nuts. I searched for a recipe with the first two ingredients and found this one. I had Jasmine rice on hand. It worked well with red cabbage leaves, and the hickory nuts instead of almonds. I substituted golden raisins for the currants. I used organic crushed tomatoes from a can and this worked out well. I used a 1/3 cup of the brine from the canned green olives I had served earlier instead of prepared chicken broth. (I hate boxed chicken broth, it tastes terrible to me.) I didn't have any parsley, so I used some of the fennel, and I also added a finely diced stalk of celery to the lamb mixture. I used a really good parmesan cheese on top at the end of the cooking time and cooked it a little longer to brown the top. Also, I made it with cooked rice by mistake, and it was great, but I will try using uncooked rice for the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
Awesome. There are only two of us and we ate these for three days in a row. Few modifications I made. First, I used red rice. Second, I had some Campbell's tomato juice cans and it worked out fine. Third, I added in a dew additional spices I thought would go well into the mix ( personal preference ). Finally, the review that suggested the microwave for the cabbage leaves was awesome. Put the cabbage in a small casserole and added enough water to cover the bottom with about a quarter inch of water. Scored and stabbed into the core of the cabbage. 2 minutes at a time and the leaves came of intact. I didn't burn off my fingers as happens when I boil the cabbage and water gets trapped between the leaves. Nothing like unexpected scalding to put you off enjoying dinner. Finally, used the cooking liquid to create a thicker sauce to drizzle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
Could if I could give this recipe a full 10 stars! It was just the best stuffed cabbage rolls we have eaten - my only change was to use diced tomatoes instead of sauce. I have it on the menu now for a once a month rotation. Thanks for the great recipe, Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mema

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Glens Falls, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
This was a really fun and tasty recipe as Chef Jon's recipes usually are. Next time I make it I would probably increase the seasonings and currant amount to make the flavours punch a bit more. Was good but a touch bland. Feta was really good on top, as well as sour creme, depending on your personal preference. Will definitely be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Wonderful taste. I opt out almond and currant, still taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Incredible. Love lamb. What is not to love with a $1 cabbage and oooops $6.99/lb ground lamb. Absolutely delicious and the aroma from the spices in the warm pan.... lovely. Yes, chef, to put the spice in the oil is correct!!! Fat does distribute that through the meat more than actually putting it on the meat. I used 'Jasmine' rice, the only ingredient I changed. Absolute nirvanna with a stuffed cabbage. Thank you for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Geigertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Wow never thought I'd love cabbage. Had a great deal on the ingredients so thought I'd try it out. Smelled great from the start. Made it pretty close to the recipe..though my tomatoe puree was a mix of veggies and tomatoes I had canned previously. Tomorrow I'll be prepping several for the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
It was better when I used uncooked rice as opposed to already cooked rice but amazing every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Plaquemine, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
Another fantastic Chef John recipe!! Made as is, except forgot the bay leaves. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marina Del Rey, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
I tried this and the flavor was good but the rice was not properly cooked. It was still hard and crunchy. Maybe it's because I didn't notice I should let it rest for 30 minutes after cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States