Lamb Tagine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Excellent tagine. I used all the ingredients and made as directed. The result was tender and incredibly flavorful. I'm sure this recipe will be on our table frequently. Thank you, BenevolentEmpress for submitting the recipe. Very yummy tagine!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
I used what I had in the cupboard for this recipe; gram masala, pepper, chili powder, salt, curry powder cinnamon and cloves for the marinade. Gram masala has many of the spices listed here, so it substituted just fine. I put it in a sealable bag and let it sit overnight. I made this recipe as a stew with sweet potatoes and carrots, adding them after the lamb had browned. Then I added pieces of shaved ginger (I didn't have ground ginger) and minced garlic. I used chicken broth and water to make it a stew. My husband said it was 'okay' at first. But then, after sitting in the fridge for a day, I served it to him over rice and he said it was awesome. He ate it all in about two minutes and said it was great. I thought it tasted fantastic both times; the curry and cinnamon tastes really blending well. The carrots and sweet potatoes went perfectly with it, too. And there was no need to steam them again of time, they softened right up while the stew stewed for about 30 min. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
This was fabulous. I didn't have all the spices on hand and couldn't marinade it for more than a couple hours but even so it was delicious and I can only image it would be even better if I had. I used chicken thighs instead of lamb and threw in one apple chunked and a small handful of cranberries. The whole family enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cocktailqueen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Excellent flavours. Very hearty and filling. Great for a winter dish. I have also made it with goat and was also very tasty. Plenty of leftovers and actually tastes better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDRONICKY

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
This is one of my very favorite recipes of all time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
The seasonings on this are simply to die for. I used lamb and followed the recipe exactly and it was wonderful. I am going to do chicken next time and it promises to be just as good, I'm sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snuffywump

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
This is excellent. I did not have the time to marinate so I cooked the onions and garlic and added the spice mixture to this before putting all in my slow cooker. I did not have the fresh ginger or sun-dired tomato paste so used chopped sun-dried tomatoes. I forgot the honey but it tasted great. With so many ingredients you don't need them all to take a stab but next time I will follow exactly. I would make this for company and know they would love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
This is fabulous. You have got to try it. It is very simple and slight modifications don't ruin the end result, just like it says. I had 3 lamb shoulder chops that I used, mixed the seasonings and rubbed them into the meat. I let that sit for about 30 minutes, then seared the shoulders in a hot stainless pan and tossed them in the slow cooker. I did saute the onions and carrots a little in the leftover brown bits and seasoning in the pan and added the stock to scoop up all of the flavor and poured it all over the lamb in the slow cooker. It rocked. My picky husband even ate it. I used some of the leftover juices to boil a chunk of chicken breast in and chopped it up fine and mashed it with some sweet potatoes for my 1 yr old. He loved it (it was fabulous). I modified just a couple of things because I did not have cardamom, garlic powder or sun dried tomato paste. I just skipped the cardamom and the garlic powder since fresh garlic is used later and I had sun dried tomatoes in oil on hand so I just chopped a hand full of them up and tossed them in. I HIGHLY recommend this recipe. I think next time I'm going to make 2 servings of the seasonings, add the second one to a plastic bag and keep on hand for quick slow cooker dinner that I can toss together in the morning - but I would let the meat marinate over night; lamb or chicken, both were great with these flavors. Love this recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Love this recipe! I make it often and it's a hit each and every time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
I had all the spices and marinated for a good 12 hours. I browned the meat and then transfered everthing to a crock pot. Cooked it on low for a good 7 hours and it was just perfect (made 2.5 times the recipe). Blend of spices is excellent! Served with a spiced couscous with dried apricots, prunes and some pine nuts. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Tagine

Lamb is stewed in Moroccan spices until moist and tender.

Lamb Merguez Sausage Patties

See how to make a spicy, super-flavorful lamb burger.

Lamb Chops with Balsamic Reduction

Tasty lamb chops are cooked on the stovetop with a tasty balsamic sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States