Lamb Tagine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
I made this while I was staying with my daughter in Dubai. It was amazing! I made it with everything you listed but added pickled lemons (sliced) and added some dried apricots. Now that I'm back home, I'm planning to make it for a crowd on Saturday. Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
I added one chopped sweet potato in when I added the carrots and it was AMAZING. I served this with couscous and even though it was my first time venturing into cooking moroccan food, everyone was VERY impressed. I was told I should make this recipe "a weekly thing" lol. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I took a few liberties with the ingredients (only slightly!) and it still came out delicious! I used beef instead of lamb (too expensive where I live), didn't really marinade it for more than ten minutes and bunged in a bit of mixed spice too (no cloves). My guests raved about it and the extra portions (tomorrow's dinner) were snaffled up straight away. I stuck it in a casserole dish, and left it on 180C in the oven for an hour and a half rather than doing it on the stove top. Perfect! I will definately be making this again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southampton, Hampshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by oranaise
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Great recipe. I made it "as is" initially but found it was missing that certain-North-African something. Here are my modifications based on the fact I grew up eating and making this dish: - Add 1/2 tsp of ground caraway and 1/2 tsp of allspice. This really adds that extra kick for those who are craving Restaurant quality North African cuisine. - Don't bother with the saffron in the marination. Saffron is more expensive than gold, and it only releases flavor in liquid (warm water or broth). Using it in the meat marinade just lends color; the flavor (and cost) is lost (the turmeric will give enough). - I cooked the onions, garlic and ginger and let them sweat before adding the raw meat; completely skipped the browning process. (We don't brown meat for stews in North Africa). - I added homemade beef broth - it's not recommended to use chicken stock if dealing with a lamb dish. This is a big NO-NO in North African cuisine. Disregard my comment if you used chicken! - I used preserved lemons instead of the lemon zest indicated in the recipe. These are hard to find based on where you are located; but not hard to make at home if you have time. I used half a preserved lemon, sliced it thinly and added it with the carrots. - Lastly, if you have "Harissa", a Tunisian chili paste, I would recommend this mixed with regular tomato paste, over the sun-dried tomatoes. Please NOTE: Harissa is spicy so disregard if you are trying to tone it down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
455 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oranaise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
I didn't like this much, but I can be picky when it comes to unusual spice combinations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Swinton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
loved this. but next time i will skip the carrots, did not like the flavor they added. in the last half hour i threw in some chopped mango, pine nuts and currants. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauren

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
OMG, this meal is delicious! Seriously, I just ate dinner, and am already looking forward to my leftovers tomorrow night! I stayed pretty true to the recipe, except I had to substitute beef stew meat (no lamb available!), and I added in a can of chickpeas and a chopped butternut squash (tips from other tagine recipes). Since I added in extra ingredients, I did 1.5x the spices. This meal was phenomenal, and my kitchen smells amazing. This is a recipe I would be proud to pass on to my family and know they would enjoy it as well. Yum yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Smells delicious and tastes almost as good. 4 out of 5 because it takes a lot of prep time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
This was so good. I do not like lamb, but my husband does, so I made it for him. I loved it. Could not even really tell I was eating lamb with all the spice! I did double all the spices because we like spice. Ended up adding a little more cornstarch than called for because it still wasn't thick with the recommended amount. Recommend getting leg of lamb for this. We got some shoulder stew meat but could barely get anything off the bones to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cambridge, Cambridgeshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
I did not care for this recipe. We invested a lot of time and money into making this dish. I should have known better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Tagine

Lamb is stewed in Moroccan spices until moist and tender.

Lamb Merguez Sausage Patties

See how to make a spicy, super-flavorful lamb burger.

Braised Lamb with Radishes and Mint

A delicious dish featuring lamb belly, radishes, anchovies, and mint.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States