Lamb Tagine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
The first thing my guests said when they came into the house was "what smells so good?" This is such a fragrant recipe. And despite the daunting list of ingredients, it is easy to make. I used "lamb stew" lamb which was already cubed, but next time I think I will get a better cut of meat . The only other change I'd make is to use a little less broth. I will definitely make this again, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northampton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Somerset, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
I followed the advice in Lumiere's review (except for the extra-spicy harissa) and the dish was fantastic. Lamb isn't carried in my local supermarkets so I used vennison and it turned out wonderful. This is going into my recipe favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
This was just a perfect recipe, my husband loved it. I added the onions then the garlic, then ginger then I added the meat & stirred till all sides were brown & continued normally with the other ingredients. I added also a can of chickpeas & 10 minutes before it was done I added one sweet potatoe cut into cubes. It was great & definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
This was the first Tagine I ever made. (Every year for Christmas, my family puts all the names of the worlds countries in a hat, and the country we pick is the ethnic dinner we cook that year), yes, this year was Morocco. As one of several Moroccan dishes I was cooking this year, I completely forgot to marinade the lamb the night before so it only had about 3 hrs in the spices. That did not matter one bit! The lamb was delicious and so tender it fell off our forks! Going to make this dish again and again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Excellent recipe and one of my favourites. I cooked mine in a slow cooker and did find the carrots got a bit soggy, so next time I will add them later on in the cooking process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
I liked it fine, couldn't get enough infact, but my husband and daughter couldn't handle the complexity I guess. Also a few of the ingredients were expensive and nearly impossile to find so I had to omit saffron and cardamon and substitute beef for lamb and regular tomato paste instead of sundried tomato paste. I live in a small town and they just dont carry those kind of ingredients around here. I also omitted the cayenne since I'm cooking for an 8 year old. I sould mention that we served it with the cucumber raita (even thought the dish was not hot/spicy (no cayenne) and some plain couscous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
I'm only giving this recipe 4 stars due to the fact that it's still on my stove simmering. I'm confident that it's a five after tasting, though. My house smells like some spice market dream right now. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
I made this while I was staying with my daughter in Dubai. It was amazing! I made it with everything you listed but added pickled lemons (sliced) and added some dried apricots. Now that I'm back home, I'm planning to make it for a crowd on Saturday. Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
I added one chopped sweet potato in when I added the carrots and it was AMAZING. I served this with couscous and even though it was my first time venturing into cooking moroccan food, everyone was VERY impressed. I was told I should make this recipe "a weekly thing" lol. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I took a few liberties with the ingredients (only slightly!) and it still came out delicious! I used beef instead of lamb (too expensive where I live), didn't really marinade it for more than ten minutes and bunged in a bit of mixed spice too (no cloves). My guests raved about it and the extra portions (tomorrow's dinner) were snaffled up straight away. I stuck it in a casserole dish, and left it on 180C in the oven for an hour and a half rather than doing it on the stove top. Perfect! I will definately be making this again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southampton, Hampshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Tagine

Lamb is stewed in Moroccan spices until moist and tender.

Lamb Merguez Sausage Patties

See how to make a spicy, super-flavorful lamb burger.

Lamb Chops with Balsamic Reduction

Tasty lamb chops are cooked on the stovetop with a tasty balsamic sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States