Lamb Tagine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
This dish deserves 10 stars! The scent of the spices is very strong while cooking, but the flavors mellow nicely during cooking. I made the recipe exactly as written, and did not need to thicken the gravy. I did have to grind the cardamom and cloves, which is something I don't recommend doing if you don't have to, because the oils seem to have become embedded in my grinder. This recipe is worth every ounce of effort I put into it, and my husband agrees. I served it with the Sweet & Nutty Moroccan Couscous (a perfect accompaniment) and green beans. We will definitely be making this one gain. Thanks for a great Moroccan recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cranford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Looking for an easy tagine recipe for lamb and found this one......ITS BRILLIANT!. brought me back to Marrakech!! marinated actually only an hour or so(sure its even better longer) added touch more salt and cayenne but left out garlic pouder in marinade as I dont like it and prefer fresh. Bit more stock as well and sauce was amazing! Will be making this often!!! Thanks Benevolent Empress!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
So fantastic, I would make this for company! I couldn't find any lamb stew meat at my local market, so I used lean beef stew meat and it worked great. The meat was so tender and flavorful! This is a lot easier to make than it looks based on the ingredient list. The only thing I'd do next time is to add a little more salt. Other than that, it was perfect. This is definitely going into my regular rotation. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
Amazing dish! I've made this several times already. I include a few diced sweet potatos for added texture - it dissolves and thickens the sauce. Delicious flavour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
I used two lamb shanks and just stewed the meat and onions in the spices and some veggie stock for several hours. I then added 5-6 carrots, some sun-dried tomatoes, the lemon zest, the honey, some freeze dried apricots, raisins, and at the end, some frozen spinach. Served over rice, it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
I'm just learning to cook and this was a really great, easy and delicious recipe. My 15 month old son and chef husband loved it as well!! I don't think I would change a thing, except maybe experiment with adding raisins or other veggies in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
this was so delicious - love the blend of spices. I wasn't able to simmer for the entire hour, just cut my carrots a little smaller so they'd cook faster - it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BatikWindmillTurban
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
I didnt have cayenne pepper, cardamom, saffron or honey. I used regular tomato paste instead of sundried. My husband is Mauritanian and he liked it. Next time I will try to have those ingredients on hand, and I think I will try leaving the carrots sliced into coins. I like the sweet taste of boiled carrot, it was not discernable with such small pieces of carrot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BatikWindmillTurban

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Mmmmm! The first time I made this it cost a lot because I had to go buy so many spices. But after that, it is not a pricey meal to make! Get good lamb (I like to get it at Whole Foods, even if I spend a few extra $$). The hallway in our apartment building smelled for a few days from cooking this, but I love the smell so it was no problem for me (hopefully my neighbors liked it too!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jkoltov

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
Just made this tonight on my back porch using dutch ovens and charcoal. It was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Tagine

Lamb is stewed in Moroccan spices until moist and tender.

Lamb Merguez Sausage Patties

See how to make a spicy, super-flavorful lamb burger.

Lamb Chops with Balsamic Reduction

Tasty lamb chops are cooked on the stovetop with a tasty balsamic sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States