Lamb Tagine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
This was the first Tagine I ever made. (Every year for Christmas, my family puts all the names of the worlds countries in a hat, and the country we pick is the ethnic dinner we cook that year), yes, this year was Morocco. As one of several Moroccan dishes I was cooking this year, I completely forgot to marinade the lamb the night before so it only had about 3 hrs in the spices. That did not matter one bit! The lamb was delicious and so tender it fell off our forks! Going to make this dish again and again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Excellent recipe and one of my favourites. I cooked mine in a slow cooker and did find the carrots got a bit soggy, so next time I will add them later on in the cooking process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
I liked it fine, couldn't get enough infact, but my husband and daughter couldn't handle the complexity I guess. Also a few of the ingredients were expensive and nearly impossile to find so I had to omit saffron and cardamon and substitute beef for lamb and regular tomato paste instead of sundried tomato paste. I live in a small town and they just dont carry those kind of ingredients around here. I also omitted the cayenne since I'm cooking for an 8 year old. I sould mention that we served it with the cucumber raita (even thought the dish was not hot/spicy (no cayenne) and some plain couscous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
I'm only giving this recipe 4 stars due to the fact that it's still on my stove simmering. I'm confident that it's a five after tasting, though. My house smells like some spice market dream right now. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
I made this while I was staying with my daughter in Dubai. It was amazing! I made it with everything you listed but added pickled lemons (sliced) and added some dried apricots. Now that I'm back home, I'm planning to make it for a crowd on Saturday. Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
I added one chopped sweet potato in when I added the carrots and it was AMAZING. I served this with couscous and even though it was my first time venturing into cooking moroccan food, everyone was VERY impressed. I was told I should make this recipe "a weekly thing" lol. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I took a few liberties with the ingredients (only slightly!) and it still came out delicious! I used beef instead of lamb (too expensive where I live), didn't really marinade it for more than ten minutes and bunged in a bit of mixed spice too (no cloves). My guests raved about it and the extra portions (tomorrow's dinner) were snaffled up straight away. I stuck it in a casserole dish, and left it on 180C in the oven for an hour and a half rather than doing it on the stove top. Perfect! I will definately be making this again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southampton, Hampshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by oranaise
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Great recipe. I made it "as is" initially but found it was missing that certain-North-African something. Here are my modifications based on the fact I grew up eating and making this dish: - Add 1/2 tsp of ground caraway and 1/2 tsp of allspice. This really adds that extra kick for those who are craving Restaurant quality North African cuisine. - Don't bother with the saffron in the marination. Saffron is more expensive than gold, and it only releases flavor in liquid (warm water or broth). Using it in the meat marinade just lends color; the flavor (and cost) is lost (the turmeric will give enough). - I cooked the onions, garlic and ginger and let them sweat before adding the raw meat; completely skipped the browning process. (We don't brown meat for stews in North Africa). - I added homemade beef broth - it's not recommended to use chicken stock if dealing with a lamb dish. This is a big NO-NO in North African cuisine. Disregard my comment if you used chicken! - I used preserved lemons instead of the lemon zest indicated in the recipe. These are hard to find based on where you are located; but not hard to make at home if you have time. I used half a preserved lemon, sliced it thinly and added it with the carrots. - Lastly, if you have "Harissa", a Tunisian chili paste, I would recommend this mixed with regular tomato paste, over the sun-dried tomatoes. Please NOTE: Harissa is spicy so disregard if you are trying to tone it down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
403 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oranaise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
I didn't like this much, but I can be picky when it comes to unusual spice combinations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Swinton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
loved this. but next time i will skip the carrots, did not like the flavor they added. in the last half hour i threw in some chopped mango, pine nuts and currants. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauren

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lamb Tagine

Lamb is stewed in Moroccan spices until moist and tender.

Lamb Merguez Sausage Patties

See how to make a spicy, super-flavorful lamb burger.

Lamb Chops with Balsamic Reduction

Tasty lamb chops are cooked on the stovetop with a tasty balsamic sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States