Lamb Tagine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
Fabulous recipe - rave reviews - fun to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Kees
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
Phenomenal! My husband ate until he was sick. Adjustments I made: I diced everything to 1/2" to make it easier for my kids to eat and to speed up the cooking process. I diced the lamb (3 pounds boneless leg of lamb, trimmed), tossed it in the spices minus the saffron, then browned it in a pan of hot olive oil (no marinading) and put the meat in the crock pot. Then, I diced the onions and added them to the now-seasoned oil in the pan and cooked them with the garlic until brown and translucent, then added them to the meat in the crock pot. THEN I added the stock, plain tomato paste, lemon zest, and honey to the onion-y, spicey pan and brought it to a boil, then poured it into the crock pot and added a pinch of saffron. I cooked it on high for about 4 hours and served it with the raita and Moroccan couscous. It was SO GOOD I took a picture and put it on Facebook and all my friends swooned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Kees

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
I love this recipe. I had bought lamb and had no idea of what I could do with it. I saw this recipe and the long list of ingredients; since I had all the spices on hand and really wanted to try something different, I went for it. The results were incredible. I am making a large batch of the spices to have on hand. It is a my new favorite spice blend, and works with chicken and sweet potatoes/root vegetables as well. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
The first thing my guests said when they came into the house was "what smells so good?" This is such a fragrant recipe. And despite the daunting list of ingredients, it is easy to make. I used "lamb stew" lamb which was already cubed, but next time I think I will get a better cut of meat . The only other change I'd make is to use a little less broth. I will definitely make this again, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northampton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Somerset, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
I followed the advice in Lumiere's review (except for the extra-spicy harissa) and the dish was fantastic. Lamb isn't carried in my local supermarkets so I used vennison and it turned out wonderful. This is going into my recipe favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
This was just a perfect recipe, my husband loved it. I added the onions then the garlic, then ginger then I added the meat & stirred till all sides were brown & continued normally with the other ingredients. I added also a can of chickpeas & 10 minutes before it was done I added one sweet potatoe cut into cubes. It was great & definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
This was the first Tagine I ever made. (Every year for Christmas, my family puts all the names of the worlds countries in a hat, and the country we pick is the ethnic dinner we cook that year), yes, this year was Morocco. As one of several Moroccan dishes I was cooking this year, I completely forgot to marinade the lamb the night before so it only had about 3 hrs in the spices. That did not matter one bit! The lamb was delicious and so tender it fell off our forks! Going to make this dish again and again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Excellent recipe and one of my favourites. I cooked mine in a slow cooker and did find the carrots got a bit soggy, so next time I will add them later on in the cooking process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
I liked it fine, couldn't get enough infact, but my husband and daughter couldn't handle the complexity I guess. Also a few of the ingredients were expensive and nearly impossile to find so I had to omit saffron and cardamon and substitute beef for lamb and regular tomato paste instead of sundried tomato paste. I live in a small town and they just dont carry those kind of ingredients around here. I also omitted the cayenne since I'm cooking for an 8 year old. I sould mention that we served it with the cucumber raita (even thought the dish was not hot/spicy (no cayenne) and some plain couscous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
I'm only giving this recipe 4 stars due to the fact that it's still on my stove simmering. I'm confident that it's a five after tasting, though. My house smells like some spice market dream right now. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Tagine

Lamb is stewed in Moroccan spices until moist and tender.

Lamb Merguez Sausage Patties

See how to make a spicy, super-flavorful lamb burger.

Lamb Chops with Balsamic Reduction

Tasty lamb chops are cooked on the stovetop with a tasty balsamic sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States