Lamb Tagine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
Really a wonderful blend of spices. I didn't have tomato paste or stock so added a can of diced oven roasted tomatoes instead with a little extra water. It turned out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
This is beyond good. Didn't bother with saffron, too expensive. Did everything else exactly as in recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I am blessed with having experienced North African cooking at it's best -- in the everyday households around Morocco. This recipe produced the best tagine I've had outside of Morocco and definitely my best personal effort. I followed "lumiere's" review -- don't brown the meat as that is never done in traditional North African cooking! I haven't made preserved lemons yet, but instead I added juice of half a lemon at the very end -- added it to the broth and stirred gently. A Moroccan tradition (and possibly Algerian and Tunisian?) is to use 7 vegetables: alway onion and the 6 of the following: carrots, parnips, potato, turnip, zucchini, yellow squash, pumpkin or other squash, tomato, green beans -- you get the idea, whatever is fresh and in season. I also substituted chicken for the lamb. I love lamb, but chicken is easier to find than good lamb, which requires a trip to the local halal meat market. I am not a fan of turnips, but just one small turnip will add a rich flavor and if I end up eating it thinking it's a potato -- well, the sauce is enough to mask the strong taste for the most part. :) As they say in Morocco -- b'sahatik! To your health!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
This dish is fabulous. Savory and juicy...wonderful aroma and flavors. I'm not a huge fan of lamb, but my husband is -- and this dish makes the lamb MORE than palatable for me. We were tagine novices, and LOVE the cooking implement now. The meat and veggies come out SO tender and juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
Excellent recipe. I used beef instead of lamb and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Fantastic. I used rus al hanout instead of listed spices as they were all in the rus al hanout blend with the exception of cardamom, also used preserved lemon in place of lemon zest
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
This was very good and forgiving. Before starting this recipe I squeezed the juice of 1 lime on the lamb, stirred ,washed it off and patted it dry. This cuts the "gamey" flavor of the lamb. As per another reviewer I used beef broth instead of chicken and omitted the saffron. I used regular tomato paste (sundried tomato is probably better), limes instead of lemons and regular salt. Next time I will double the cayenne pepper and like our old neighborhood restaurant I will add one cup of prunes on the last 20 minutes of simmering. The cornstarch was definitely needed. This is a keeper! Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chickorita
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
This recipe was amazing and my hubby loved it. The 1st time I used lamb shoulder instead of cubes. The 2nd time I used cut up whole chicken. Both times I added 1/2 tsp of allspice and a little extra cumin and salt to the broth. I also left out the ginger cause I don't like the flavor and a little less honey. I used water in place of the chiclen broth because the meat makes its own broth then added a little lemon juice along with the zest. Finally I tossed in some bell pepper chuncks,chopped tomato, chick peas and potato cubes. I used the broth to cook basmati rice on the side and served with a basic cucumber tomato middle eastern salad and plain yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chickorita

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
Fabulous recipe - rave reviews - fun to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ashley Kees
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
Phenomenal! My husband ate until he was sick. Adjustments I made: I diced everything to 1/2" to make it easier for my kids to eat and to speed up the cooking process. I diced the lamb (3 pounds boneless leg of lamb, trimmed), tossed it in the spices minus the saffron, then browned it in a pan of hot olive oil (no marinading) and put the meat in the crock pot. Then, I diced the onions and added them to the now-seasoned oil in the pan and cooked them with the garlic until brown and translucent, then added them to the meat in the crock pot. THEN I added the stock, plain tomato paste, lemon zest, and honey to the onion-y, spicey pan and brought it to a boil, then poured it into the crock pot and added a pinch of saffron. I cooked it on high for about 4 hours and served it with the raita and Moroccan couscous. It was SO GOOD I took a picture and put it on Facebook and all my friends swooned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Kees

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Lamb Tagine

Lamb is stewed in Moroccan spices until moist and tender.

Lamb Merguez Sausage Patties

See how to make a spicy, super-flavorful lamb burger.

Lamb Chops with Balsamic Reduction

Tasty lamb chops are cooked on the stovetop with a tasty balsamic sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States