Lamb Tagine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Excellent! Sure, it's alot of work and the list of ingredients is long but the flavor is sensational. Well worth doubling the recipe so you'll have leftovers or serve it for a party like I did with a rice pilaf.I cooked it in a roman clay pot and the results were perfect - so tender everyone raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Tried it with beef. Just as good and makes good leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma Kuhn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
This recipe is excellent; even my kids love it! I followed the recipe almost exactly except I didn't have saffron and I used regular tomato paste. I would say try this recipe if your looking for something a little different with a lot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
Really a wonderful blend of spices. I didn't have tomato paste or stock so added a can of diced oven roasted tomatoes instead with a little extra water. It turned out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
This is beyond good. Didn't bother with saffron, too expensive. Did everything else exactly as in recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I am blessed with having experienced North African cooking at it's best -- in the everyday households around Morocco. This recipe produced the best tagine I've had outside of Morocco and definitely my best personal effort. I followed "lumiere's" review -- don't brown the meat as that is never done in traditional North African cooking! I haven't made preserved lemons yet, but instead I added juice of half a lemon at the very end -- added it to the broth and stirred gently. A Moroccan tradition (and possibly Algerian and Tunisian?) is to use 7 vegetables: alway onion and the 6 of the following: carrots, parnips, potato, turnip, zucchini, yellow squash, pumpkin or other squash, tomato, green beans -- you get the idea, whatever is fresh and in season. I also substituted chicken for the lamb. I love lamb, but chicken is easier to find than good lamb, which requires a trip to the local halal meat market. I am not a fan of turnips, but just one small turnip will add a rich flavor and if I end up eating it thinking it's a potato -- well, the sauce is enough to mask the strong taste for the most part. :) As they say in Morocco -- b'sahatik! To your health!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
This dish is fabulous. Savory and juicy...wonderful aroma and flavors. I'm not a huge fan of lamb, but my husband is -- and this dish makes the lamb MORE than palatable for me. We were tagine novices, and LOVE the cooking implement now. The meat and veggies come out SO tender and juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
Excellent recipe. I used beef instead of lamb and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Fantastic. I used rus al hanout instead of listed spices as they were all in the rus al hanout blend with the exception of cardamom, also used preserved lemon in place of lemon zest
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
This was very good and forgiving. Before starting this recipe I squeezed the juice of 1 lime on the lamb, stirred ,washed it off and patted it dry. This cuts the "gamey" flavor of the lamb. As per another reviewer I used beef broth instead of chicken and omitted the saffron. I used regular tomato paste (sundried tomato is probably better), limes instead of lemons and regular salt. Next time I will double the cayenne pepper and like our old neighborhood restaurant I will add one cup of prunes on the last 20 minutes of simmering. The cornstarch was definitely needed. This is a keeper! Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Tagine

Lamb is stewed in Moroccan spices until moist and tender.

Lamb Merguez Sausage Patties

See how to make a spicy, super-flavorful lamb burger.

Braised Lamb with Radishes and Mint

A delicious dish featuring lamb belly, radishes, anchovies, and mint.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States