Lamb Shawarma Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
I was hesitant to make this recipe cause it wasnt reveiwed by anyone yet and i never cooked lamb before but i was so glad i tried it. It was soooo good. I had to make the marinade twice cause the first time i made it, it was way to hot and i actually like to eat hot things. So the second time i made it i reduced the cayanne pepper to 1/8tsp and it was perfect. I also tried the lamb 12hrs in the marinade and then 24 and definately the 24hrs was best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Made the full recipe for the sauce with the addition of 1/4tsp. allspice. However only used 1lb of Dall Sheep (game meat) cut into bite sized pieces. It was lovely. The yogurt, like buttermilk, tenderized the meat, seasoning imparted great flavor. It was not overpowering like some spice blends. Made it into gyro-like sandwiches, but would be great in couscous, chopped salads, or as Kebabs! Other reviewers have noted to cut back on cayenne if you aren't into "hot." I'd agree. Only used 1/2 tsp of cayenne and it was just the perfect amount of spicy without inducing tears and sweat. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenai, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
The flavor is to die for! However, I do have some suggestions. I would double the recipe for this much meat. It was barely enough to coat 2 1/2# of meat, and I still had to add some water after a few hours because the top layer of meat was drying out. Also, I would cut the salt in half or delete it altogether. I used 1 tsp. for 2 1/2# of meat and it was still too salty. I doubled the garlic as I didn't think I'd be able to taste it at the suggested amount, and it was perfect. I also used Thai hot peppers instead of cayenne, substituting 4 peppers per teaspoon -- I chopped them up with the garlic and onion. It was pretty warm, but I like that! With the recipe doubled for the amount of meat, the spices were just right, very fragrant and the meat was so tender from the yogurt. I marinaded for 12 hours and it was terrific. The last comment I have is that I might try grilling the meat next time because in the skillet, when the marinade boils, the yogurt curdles. Overall, I think this recipe is flexible and forgiving, and the flavor combination is exotic and thoroughly enjoyable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KC Peacenik

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheatland, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
I made this yesterday and it was divine! I was attracted to this recipe because of the many spices/herbs. And the smell of the marinating meat was a great indicator of how it was going to taste. I only had half a pound of lamb, but I did not scale down the sauce to a tenth -- I like sauces with my food. Also: I did not use a tablespoon of salt -- I used just a teaspoon and it was fine. If I had 5 lbs of meat, I probably would use more. Finally, I only had whole spices. I guessed on the conversions and tossed them all in the grinder. And because my lamb was *very* thinly sliced (paper thin), I only left this in the marinade for about 3 hours. My cayenne was probably old -- I used a full teaspoon and the dish was not hot. . I'm sure if I let it sit overnight, the flavors would be intense, but I was hungry and did not have the foresight to refrigerate this the night before. I did not have this as a shawarma, but as a dish of meat and sauce over bulgur. If I do decide to have shawarma, I might just scrape off the extra marinade before I grill this. This dish was superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Smelled exactly like I remember shawarma smelling when I lived in the Middle East! And I was very happy to find that there are no obscure ingredients in this recipe. It was fun making this at home, but it's hard to slice the meat thinly, and lamb is SO expensive... I think we'll stick to the professionals when we want shawarma.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Li

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Loved it! I fed it to my roommates and friends, and everyone ate seconds and thirds. I didn't have lamb, so I used steaks instead, and it turned out great. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
Great flavor. We made this and had it in a pita with tomatoes, spinach, yogert, and feta cheese. My husband said this was an exciting dinner with great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lcollins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2011
this was really different for us, but delicious and super-easy. i followed the directions exactly and wouldnt change a thing. served it with "shirazi salad" from this site, which was a great combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I halved the recipe and made it with chicken. I marinated the strips for 8 hours and they were phenomenal on pita bread w/the thick-style lebanese garlic sauce recipe from this site, some sliced dill pickles and tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenelle D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
This is my first time preparing lamb and I decided to use this recipe to prepare it. The lamb came out great and the flavor was superb!!! I love how you marinaded the lamb in sauce overnight to enrichen the flavor. I marinade mine 18 hours prior to cooking(prepared saturday night). I had 4 pieces of lamb shoulders and decided to grilled 2 pieces of lamb on stovetop (do not have a outside grill) and I decided to bake the other 2 in the oven at 350 degrees for 45 minutes, and both methods came out great!! This is going to be one of my frequent dishes to prepare for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roast Lamb with Root Vegetables

What's cooking in Polson? This impressive lamb dish.

How to Make Lamb Meatballs

See how to make baked lamb meatballs simmered in a simple tomato sauce.

Saba Braised Lamb Shanks

Succulent, tender lamb shanks braised with a savory Italian secret ingredient.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States