Lamb Shanks with Ancho Chile Honey Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
Absolutely stunning. I served it with mashed potatoes and green beans. I made extra but found that it is better eaten on the day it is made as it doesn't taste as good when re-heated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorne, Yorkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
This was absolutely outstanding! I made the dish for a dinner party last night and the guests enjoyed it so much that one of them - a professional chef - actually licked his plate! I followed the recipe exactly, except for adding trhe jiuce of an orange as well as zest to the glaze, becuase I wanted something a little sharper. I hadn't intended to make the yoghurt dressing, but I'm glad I did - it added a lovely cool contrast to the smoky juiciness of the lamb. This is an amaziong recipe - thank you so much for sharing it. if I could give it six stars, I would!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belfast, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
Thanks for the great recipe! Very unique flavors that I will definitely be experimenting with. My girlfriend loved it and she has HATED lamb every other time she's had it. Now, here are the changes and additions I made to the recipe, I added about a 1/2 tsp of crushed red pepper after I browned the shanks and about 1 tbsp. of sugar to the tomatoe puree to counter some of the acidity. I eliminated 1 cup of the tomatoe puree and 1 cup of chicken stock and substituted 2 cups of red wine instead:) After the braising, instead of turning up the oven to 400-degrees, I placed the rack high on my oven and turned it on broil. I brushed on the glaze and broiled with a very watchful eye to prevent burning. I made a cilantro oil (bunch of cilantro, olive oil, salt & pepper blended in a food processor) which complimented the glaze awesomely!! I brushed on some cilantro oil during the broiling process too and it made the world of difference (Flavor town baby!). I served it on a bed of Creamy Cotija cheese and Chive Polenta, drizzled with some fresh cilantro oil. Didn't plate the braising liquid becuase I found it unnecessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frankie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
I made this dish for my husband, who is a retired chef, and he LOVED it! I couldn't find the dried anchos so I substituded fresh chili peppers and added ancho powder and it was delicious! This was a very easy dish to make (it took time to cook but no time at all to put together). It was sweet and 'hot' at the same time...but not overwhelmingly so...evne my 83 y.o. mother in law loved it! I doubled the honey glaze and used it on chicken wings the next day...equally delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
Excellent. We didn't have ancho chilis either, just use whatever you enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
Could not find any Ancho Chillies in this City, so substituted with ordinary sundried chillies. Works terrific. However, I doubled the amount of chillis for that little extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
Bad combination of flavors. At least the lamb shanks were cooked perfectly and were very tender, but the combination of ancho chile with honey doesn't work for me. Very strange result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
The lamb flavour was good and tender but i dident like the resulting tomato stodge with the yogurt and corriander combo,thanks for posting something different though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sav

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
Unfortunately, I was disappointed with this recipe. Followed the directions exactly as written; the lamb was cooked perfectly, however, it was the combination of flavors that disappointed. The orange did not blend well with the ancho chile's and the crust did not firm up as promised. My husband thought the tomato sauce was unnecessary and did not feel it enhanced the flavor of the lamb. Will use the cooking method again as the lamb was moist and flavorful, but I'll try it with another combination of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
This recipe is absolutely sensational - the combination of the dried ancho chillies - a very subtle smoky flavour, mild not hot - with the honey glaze is just amazing!!! Can I say to people that used red chillies, you have not exp-erienced what this recipe is all about. Here, in Australia, it is not very easy to find ancho chillies, I got some by chance interstate, and have now located a source in Melbourne. I'm sure you will find it a lot easier to get these if you live in the US. Thank you so much - a terrific recipe! Jan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Geelong, Victoria, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Braised Lamb Shanks

Watch Chef John make succulent, fragrant, slightly spicy lamb shanks.

Saba Braised Lamb Shanks

Succulent, tender lamb shanks braised with a savory Italian secret ingredient.

Rosemary Braised Lamb Shanks

Lamb shanks are slow-simmered in a flavorful red wine sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States