Lamb Shanks with Ancho Chile Honey Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
Absolutely stunning. I served it with mashed potatoes and green beans. I made extra but found that it is better eaten on the day it is made as it doesn't taste as good when re-heated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorne, Yorkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2005
Loved this receipe. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
This recipe was a most delightful surprise. It is worth every minute spent on preparation, which is done before your guests arrive, and one that can be served with confidence.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
Could not find any Ancho Chillies in this City, so substituted with ordinary sundried chillies. Works terrific. However, I doubled the amount of chillis for that little extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
Made this meal for a dinner party of 6 - and it was fantastic! Very easy to prepare and quite delicious. The aromatic yoghurt mix was in wonderful contrast to the sweet glaze! Served with mashed potato, it was a real treat - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
I made this dish for my husband, who is a retired chef, and he LOVED it! I couldn't find the dried anchos so I substituded fresh chili peppers and added ancho powder and it was delicious! This was a very easy dish to make (it took time to cook but no time at all to put together). It was sweet and 'hot' at the same time...but not overwhelmingly so...evne my 83 y.o. mother in law loved it! I doubled the honey glaze and used it on chicken wings the next day...equally delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2007
I felt that there was too much tomato sauce for the number of lamb shanks. Otherwise the flavors were Excellent!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bedford, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
My boyfriend absolutely loved it! It took some time, but is really worth it. And I used the leftover chile-honey glaze on my veggie burger. I make it on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon W.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
This was absolutely outstanding! I made the dish for a dinner party last night and the guests enjoyed it so much that one of them - a professional chef - actually licked his plate! I followed the recipe exactly, except for adding trhe jiuce of an orange as well as zest to the glaze, becuase I wanted something a little sharper. I hadn't intended to make the yoghurt dressing, but I'm glad I did - it added a lovely cool contrast to the smoky juiciness of the lamb. This is an amaziong recipe - thank you so much for sharing it. if I could give it six stars, I would!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belfast, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sallieben

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Braised Lamb Shanks

Watch Chef John make succulent, fragrant, slightly spicy lamb shanks.

Saba Braised Lamb Shanks

Succulent, tender lamb shanks braised with a savory Italian secret ingredient.

Rosemary Braised Lamb Shanks

Lamb shanks are slow-simmered in a flavorful red wine sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States