Lamb Shanks with Ancho Chile Honey Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
great never had lamb shanks and these were wonderful. had ancho but no tomato puree used one can plum tomato and a small jar of mild salsa. worked great. thanks julie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Glenns Ferry, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cornellveggieman
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I loved the end result of this recipe. I substituted parlsey for the cilantro in the yogurt topping (I'm one of those who taste dish soap so I miss out on cilantro's tasty goodness) and it tasted pretty darn good. I was pleasantly surprised with the flavor play of the ancho chiles in the base and glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Excellent dish. Those saying that orange and ancho don't go together are mad. Red chilies or any other kind of chilies are no substitute for the smoky taste of ancho. I had just 2 smallish shanks but kept most of the other proportions anyway except just a couple cups of diced tomatoes and slightly less honey. Wound up with more tomato mixture and more glaze than needed but it was fine. I added a few dried lemon peel chunks to the tomato baking marinade. Lacking a dutch oven or a ceramic baking pot, I roasted it all in a normal pan covered tightly with foil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gajah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
I made this for a big gathering and got rave reviews all around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
Thanks for the great recipe! Very unique flavors that I will definitely be experimenting with. My girlfriend loved it and she has HATED lamb every other time she's had it. Now, here are the changes and additions I made to the recipe, I added about a 1/2 tsp of crushed red pepper after I browned the shanks and about 1 tbsp. of sugar to the tomatoe puree to counter some of the acidity. I eliminated 1 cup of the tomatoe puree and 1 cup of chicken stock and substituted 2 cups of red wine instead:) After the braising, instead of turning up the oven to 400-degrees, I placed the rack high on my oven and turned it on broil. I brushed on the glaze and broiled with a very watchful eye to prevent burning. I made a cilantro oil (bunch of cilantro, olive oil, salt & pepper blended in a food processor) which complimented the glaze awesomely!! I brushed on some cilantro oil during the broiling process too and it made the world of difference (Flavor town baby!). I served it on a bed of Creamy Cotija cheese and Chive Polenta, drizzled with some fresh cilantro oil. Didn't plate the braising liquid becuase I found it unnecessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frankie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
Bad combination of flavors. At least the lamb shanks were cooked perfectly and were very tender, but the combination of ancho chile with honey doesn't work for me. Very strange result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
The lamb flavour was good and tender but i dident like the resulting tomato stodge with the yogurt and corriander combo,thanks for posting something different though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sav

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
Unfortunately, I was disappointed with this recipe. Followed the directions exactly as written; the lamb was cooked perfectly, however, it was the combination of flavors that disappointed. The orange did not blend well with the ancho chile's and the crust did not firm up as promised. My husband thought the tomato sauce was unnecessary and did not feel it enhanced the flavor of the lamb. Will use the cooking method again as the lamb was moist and flavorful, but I'll try it with another combination of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
This recipe is absolutely sensational - the combination of the dried ancho chillies - a very subtle smoky flavour, mild not hot - with the honey glaze is just amazing!!! Can I say to people that used red chillies, you have not exp-erienced what this recipe is all about. Here, in Australia, it is not very easy to find ancho chillies, I got some by chance interstate, and have now located a source in Melbourne. I'm sure you will find it a lot easier to get these if you live in the US. Thank you so much - a terrific recipe! Jan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Geelong, Victoria, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
I made this lamb dish today, and I must say it was very tasty. The yogurt I thought was a bit iffy on but once I ate some with the lamb it was perfect. My boyfriend loved it. He kept raving about how great a cook I am (but I already knew that:D) The only thing I did was add more garlic and ancho chiles don't add heat like a jalapeno would they add a smoky flavor. I served this dish with mash potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adriana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Braised Lamb Shanks

Watch Chef John make succulent, fragrant, slightly spicy lamb shanks.

Saba Braised Lamb Shanks

Succulent, tender lamb shanks braised with a savory Italian secret ingredient.

Rosemary Braised Lamb Shanks

Lamb shanks are slow-simmered in a flavorful red wine sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States