Lamb Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
I was inspired to make lamb meatballs after watching Harold on Top Chef make some nice spicy lamb sicilian style meatballs. I wanted to make something not so spicy, though, and I found this excellent recipe. Thank you for beating my meatball doldrums!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
OMG very good recipe it cost much more than ground turkey or beef but its worth every dollar. I added more tomato sauce and 1/3 cup of lemon juice instead of zest and put a lil bit of lemon juice in the sauce as well. Ummmm (Home Simpson voice) it was soo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
It was fantastic. My 15 year old son had second helpings. I made it with wild rice and tomato sauce on the side. I used less butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
Very good and easy. I added a little salt at the end. Also, I didn't have lemon zest so I used a bit of lemon juice...worked out fine. We actually had this for dinner, not cocktails!! Husband really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
These are very tasty! A nice unique dish. I definitely recommend as an appetizer, rather than a meal, because the taste is intense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Lamb has a different taste than beef, so this was a nice change of pace. Good ratio of meat to bread crumbs, too - thanks for getting that right Kathy. Next time I will make MUCH more sauce. I made two batches this time, and preferred the sauce made with white wine. The only drawback to this recipe is that ground lamb was expensive ($13 /lb), and was a bit hard to find. Had to go to a butcher in town because the grocery store only sold lamb chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
This was good. I would make it again, but just the meatball part. Used half shallots, half garlic. We ate it as a main course and liked it. The sauce was a bit strange, though -- not making that again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
these were ok...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BTU33

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
I wanted to serve this with rice as a meal, so I scaled the meatballs down to 6 servings but made the sauce as written. The meatballs were really quite bland, and the wine in the sauce was absolutely overpowering. I ended up adding about half a can of tomato sauce, and even then it wasn't especially good. I won't be making this again. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

How to Make Lamb Meatballs

See how to make baked lamb meatballs simmered in a simple tomato sauce.

Spicy Orange Bison Balls

See how to make a lower-fat version of cocktail meatballs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States