Lamb Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
I was inspired to make lamb meatballs after watching Harold on Top Chef make some nice spicy lamb sicilian style meatballs. I wanted to make something not so spicy, though, and I found this excellent recipe. Thank you for beating my meatball doldrums!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
OMG very good recipe it cost much more than ground turkey or beef but its worth every dollar. I added more tomato sauce and 1/3 cup of lemon juice instead of zest and put a lil bit of lemon juice in the sauce as well. Ummmm (Home Simpson voice) it was soo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
It was fantastic. My 15 year old son had second helpings. I made it with wild rice and tomato sauce on the side. I used less butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
This is a great recipe. I cooked the meatballs in a 375 degree oven for 30 minutes to save cook time and they were so tender and good. I used the recipe for a main dish, with mashed potatoes and steam vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Hopper Coggins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by lizzybeth
Reviewed: May 26, 2015
I changed quite a bit substituting 1/4 onion for shallots and basil and oregano for parsley and margoram. they tasted like a richer beef meatball to me but I love lamb. I think the sauce would be better as a mushroom scampi so I think I will do that next time as the tomatoes and lamb didn't quite mix to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2015
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine Kao

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
Very good and easy. I added a little salt at the end. Also, I didn't have lemon zest so I used a bit of lemon juice...worked out fine. We actually had this for dinner, not cocktails!! Husband really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
These are very tasty! A nice unique dish. I definitely recommend as an appetizer, rather than a meal, because the taste is intense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Lamb has a different taste than beef, so this was a nice change of pace. Good ratio of meat to bread crumbs, too - thanks for getting that right Kathy. Next time I will make MUCH more sauce. I made two batches this time, and preferred the sauce made with white wine. The only drawback to this recipe is that ground lamb was expensive ($13 /lb), and was a bit hard to find. Had to go to a butcher in town because the grocery store only sold lamb chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
This was good. I would make it again, but just the meatball part. Used half shallots, half garlic. We ate it as a main course and liked it. The sauce was a bit strange, though -- not making that again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

How to Make Lamb Meatballs

See how to make baked lamb meatballs simmered in a simple tomato sauce.

Spicy Orange Bison Balls

See how to make a lower-fat version of cocktail meatballs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States