Lamb Masala with Jeweled Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
I found this recipe bland and pepped it up with twice the amount of massala and some yellow curry sauce. I also made it the night before in an electric frying pan and kept it overnight and reheated it in the oven in a casserol. Got lots of compliments - was a dinner party. little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
This was my first experience cooking lamb. I took the advice of others and used a quality cut and cubed it myself. Love it, love it, love it. I halved the recipe...wish I had doubled it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Bedford, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
definitly a nice CURRY dish. i loved the taste, but might add a little bit of chilli powder for some zing next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Darwin, Northern Territory, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2006
If you do not like curry dishes DO NOT eat this dish. I through the whole thing away. Just not my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
This was my first Allrecipes.com attempt. I first made it when I was 17 or 18... so it's been 4 or 5 years now. This is still my favorite "impress dinner guests" dish! I've made it with lamb, and with chicken and both ways are great. I haven't made the jeweled rice though, because I prefer to use the recipe for Coconut Rice submitted by Sara K. The coconut rice uses curry, coconut milk, and ginger and complements the masala very well. This recipe takes a little time, but it's very delicious and worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toaster Cat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
Excellent! Loved this recipe... even my picky husband enjoyed this very much. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
WOW this was awesome! So gourmet, and it made a beautiful presentation on the plates (with a sprig of cilantro for garnish). I agree with the other reviewers...DO NOT use stew meat. I used boneless butterflied leg of lamb that I cubed myself. So tender, and it cooked up perfectly! I can't wait to make it again. I may try adding a little garlic and ginger next time. It would also be good with toasted slivered almonds (just because I like to experiment)...but it really is perfect the way it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willingboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mount Laurel, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2005
We love this recipe! I've made it twice with chicken, and the only change I made is to omit the salt. The Garam Masala I bought has salt as the first ingredient(!) and it was too salty with the added tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2004
Amazing! This recipe was delicious -- i took people's suggestions and used quality lamb. Chicken would probably be great too. one change: 1 cup of rice isn't quite enough for the amount of sauce (maybe 1.5 cups would be more fitting).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Broomall, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2004
This recipe is great. Its really easy and the apples compliment the flavor. I like to add a bit more masala seasoning to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States