Lamb Madras Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2007
I loved this dish. It turned out delicious and better than anything from a restaurant. The spices were perfect and the peppers gave nice heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
This was really great. It wasn't as much preparation/work as i anticipated. used beef instead of lamb and cooked it in the pressure cooker for half the time, and without the lid for half the time and it cooked much quicker. I used half coconut milk and half normal milk to make it 'lighter' and less oil and it was still very very yummy! My mum said it was like the Indian restaurant we had tried a few weeks ago. Oh and make sure to add quite a bit of salt, use some tomato paste (as a previous cook person said) and i left out the cardomoms and it was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
This recipe really taste great. I added 2tbl of tomatoe paste,only used an half cup of coconut milk and 2 cups of water. I also added 1tbl of flour when simmering the sauce as well as salt and pepper to taste. I used prepard dried curry powder instead of making the curry paste as well maybe about 3tbl of it. Even with all of these changes this recipe cooked up very nicely. I served it over jasmine rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
I added some tomato paste and made this with chicken. It was just as good as chicken madras from an expensive restaurant. We simplified it a bit by adding all the spices at the same time to the chicken as it was cooking... it came out beautifully. It was so good, that we will make it regularly from now on. Thanks so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
the best indian curry you know
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
First time with curry, and it came out perfect! I substituted chicken, and added a few chopped potatoes, was delicious. Also, didn't have the whole dried chiles, so used about 2 Tbs. of chili powder- just the right amount of heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Succasunna, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
This was really good. I used leg of lamb steaks from Trader Joe's and simmered it for about 2.5 hours. Loved the homemade curry, the dish came out excellent. Thank you! Post more of your dishes please.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
This is really good, even if you don't let the flavors sit for a day or two in the fridge! I had leftovers two days later and they were awesome. But it is still really good right after cooking. There were a couple of things I didn't have - ghee, cardamom pods (used powder), and curry leaves. I had never used tamarind paste before, but I thought it really added a nice balance of sweetness/tanginess to the dish. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph Fisher

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
It is not as difficult as it looks. Gathering all the ingredients was harder for me than the actually cooking but give yourself plenty of time if preparing it for company. It is an outstanding dish and I got rave reviews at the cooking club party. I made a double batch and placed the family stash in the freezer. The only thing that I did not use was the curry leaves. I had them but forgot to add. There is so much flavor in this dish I am not sure if it could of enhanced it in anyway. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Tastes way better than local restaurants, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oceline

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Lamb Shank Vindaloo

See how to make a spicy, Indian-style curried lamb stew.

Lamb Tagine

Lamb is stewed in Moroccan spices until moist and tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States