Lamb Madras Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
I added some tomato paste and made this with chicken. It was just as good as chicken madras from an expensive restaurant. We simplified it a bit by adding all the spices at the same time to the chicken as it was cooking... it came out beautifully. It was so good, that we will make it regularly from now on. Thanks so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Mallon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
This came out really really great! 3 things to note: 1) do NOT overdo the tamarind paste! I cut the recipe in half, then used a teeny bit more than it called for, and it was too strong at first. It's mellowed, but just be careful 2) it took 2 1/2 hours for my leg of lamb meat (cut into pieces) to get tender, not 1 1/2! 3) you will need to add salt at the end! It doesn't call for it, but you do need it!I know that's probably common sense, but just wanted to make a note. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
I loved this dish. It turned out delicious and better than anything from a restaurant. The spices were perfect and the peppers gave nice heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
This was really great. It wasn't as much preparation/work as i anticipated. used beef instead of lamb and cooked it in the pressure cooker for half the time, and without the lid for half the time and it cooked much quicker. I used half coconut milk and half normal milk to make it 'lighter' and less oil and it was still very very yummy! My mum said it was like the Indian restaurant we had tried a few weeks ago. Oh and make sure to add quite a bit of salt, use some tomato paste (as a previous cook person said) and i left out the cardomoms and it was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
the best indian curry you know
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
This recipe really taste great. I added 2tbl of tomatoe paste,only used an half cup of coconut milk and 2 cups of water. I also added 1tbl of flour when simmering the sauce as well as salt and pepper to taste. I used prepard dried curry powder instead of making the curry paste as well maybe about 3tbl of it. Even with all of these changes this recipe cooked up very nicely. I served it over jasmine rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
First time with curry, and it came out perfect! I substituted chicken, and added a few chopped potatoes, was delicious. Also, didn't have the whole dried chiles, so used about 2 Tbs. of chili powder- just the right amount of heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Succasunna, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
This was really good. I used leg of lamb steaks from Trader Joe's and simmered it for about 2.5 hours. Loved the homemade curry, the dish came out excellent. Thank you! Post more of your dishes please.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
I was a bit intimidated by all the spices, but once you start it is easy to do. I used a left over lamb shoulder roast. could not find dried red peppers, so I tried substituting 1/2t of powder. sauce was slightly sweet with a little warmth. Good recipe, but hasn't replaced my favorite take-away. will try the recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
I used chicken and I couldn't find any curry leaves but it was still fantastic. Really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Lamb Shank Vindaloo

See how to make a spicy, Indian-style curried lamb stew.

Lamb Tagine

Lamb is stewed in Moroccan spices until moist and tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States