Lamb Madras Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
This was super exceptional; my guests are still talking about it. I made this accompanied by chapatis and it was finger licking great! I had no tamarind paste so I used some lemon juice (for the zesty taste) and I substituted the sugar with honey. Thanks a mil for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
I have been cooking curries for a few years and this wosrt!! overall a good flavour but does not resemble a madras and is far too oily even though I did not use Ghee!!! Much better curries out there!! Dirty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
This was really good and not as complicated as it may seem at first glance. I went light on the tamarind and made my own garlic and ginger paste. Nice, complex flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Oh. My. GOODNESS!! This made my house smell like heaven, and was absolutely delicious! As per other reviews, I went easy on gthe tamarind, and since the instructions don't say when to add the curry leaves, I added them with the cardamom and fennel. Funny thing about the curry leaves. HAving never made curry before, I went to an Indian grocery store and asked if they had them. "Yes." he said, and went back to his bookkeeping. "Um where are they?" "In my store." I tried not to laugh. I had no idea where to look. Smart aleck. Finally asking if he could be a bit more specific, he sent someone to show us where they were. (In the refrigerated sectio, for those of you that don't frequent Indian grocery stroes) Served this over basmati rice with premade naan, mint chutney, and plain yogurt. I would have made mango salad if they were in season, but cucumber salad would have been good too. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetPea

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Tastes way better than local restaurants, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oceline

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
Never made Indian Curry before but this came out very nice. Surley I will make this again. Had a little too much of something (to my taste) and I believe it was the Tamarind Paste even I had only a little teaspoon for 8 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
This is my favorite recipe I've come across on allrecipes.com and the only authentic Indian recipe I've found here as well. Most others call for 'curry powder', always a bad sign. I made this as part of an Indian feast (something like ten different dishes) and this one was by far the winner. Why haven't more people tried this one out??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
I love this recipe! I have made it several times myself and last night made it for dinner guests who loved it as well. I do make some modifications- I add tomatoes to my curry paste and blend that all together- I use fresh ginger and fresh garlic- not pastes and add that to the curry paste as well and puree well. I use coconut oil as we cannot tolerate ghee and I use this with beef, chicken, lentils or lamb- depending on what I have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
The flavour was very nice, however I found it to be too greasy so maybe next time I would use less ghee. Also it is not as thick as what I expected. But overall a yummy dish and you can use the left over herbs and spices and make a pilau tice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
It is not as difficult as it looks. Gathering all the ingredients was harder for me than the actually cooking but give yourself plenty of time if preparing it for company. It is an outstanding dish and I got rave reviews at the cooking club party. I made a double batch and placed the family stash in the freezer. The only thing that I did not use was the curry leaves. I had them but forgot to add. There is so much flavor in this dish I am not sure if it could of enhanced it in anyway. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Lamb Shank Vindaloo

See how to make a spicy, Indian-style curried lamb stew.

Lamb Tagine

Lamb is stewed in Moroccan spices until moist and tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States