Lamb Madras Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
My girlfriend and I set out on a mission to cook curry for the first time last night. We both felt like pro chef's upon first bite--the depth of flavors is amazingly tasty. As suggested by other reviewers, we added 2 tbsp of tomato paste. Also bulked it up with some red bell pepper. Only qualm was that we had purchased the curry leaves but the recipes instructions didn't include them. Regardless of that missing ingredient, the flavors were still complex. Thanks for the fantastic recipe, we will be sure to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
This is excellent. This is the 3rd time making this recipe (prior to this I had never attempted any curry...ever). I have made it with both lamb and goat with preference for the latter. The tamarind paste is definitely necessary. I also added tomato paste, a little extra salt and pepper. I haven't bought the fennel seeds and I also used a Madras spicy curry powder. The last time I added some lentils as well. This is a great recipe for curry and it's also great to use as a base as you experiment with more ingredients. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
My husband is from India and he absolutely loves this! I follow the recipe except that I use ground spices instead of whole. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
This is time consuming but totally worth it. My husband and I loved it. This was my first experience making lamb and I used lamb stew meat, which was tough. Next time I will choose a better cut of lamb. I wonder how this would be with goat?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PROZA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Point, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
This was fantastic. I used leftover cooked lamb, and just added it near the end. I added potatoes and boiled them with the gravy. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Excuse me you only have 5 stars to rate this recipe, I would request 5 more stars please. (total of 10)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by curteslee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
Wonderful recipe. Took quite a while to make, but was so worth it. I used chicken instead of lamb and it turned out really well, but I think I will make it with lamb next time to get that extra flavour. The meat was tender and juicy, and the sauce was rich and beautifully fragrant. I've never cooked Indian food before so I was a bit intimidated, but it was pretty easy to make and turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
I LOVE this curry. I have only found one Indian restaurant that makes it this way, whenever I try it from a different restaurant it's always tomatoee. So I actually went looking for a recipe that was similar and this is it. My partner and I just had a combined birthday party and I made several dishes. Out of 50 people only 5 said this wasn't their favourite! I was really hoping for leftovers but there was none! I served it with the naan recipe from this site and was asked by heaps of people for both recipes. Awesome, thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Used most of the ingredients except curry leaves. Used curry instead. I did not follow the method at all as it looked too tedious, I just "winged it". Came out perfecto! Wonderful flavours! Thanks, I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M'Lady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
This is a great recipe. Had to use mutton instead of lamb, Wonderful. Had to cook it longer but flavours were even more intense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Lamb Shank Vindaloo

See how to make a spicy, Indian-style curried lamb stew.

Lamb Tagine

Lamb is stewed in Moroccan spices until moist and tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States