Lamb (Gosht) Biryani Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
this recipe was great. tasted authentic and I have tasted many authentic biryani's. i didn't have all the ingredients as is so had to substitute- for example cinnamon powder instead of sticks, ginger powder instead of fresh ginger, no saffron- still came out great. Husband and kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
It called for a total of five large onions! I used only one giant one, and it was sufficient. It was so spicy.There was not a good balance of meat and rice mixture. The ingredients were expensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Simple curry - but delicious with the mint added !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
I did try this two weeks ago and it was great. I used the regular cardamoms and also took the advice on the half tsp of nutmeg and one star Anise, during the frying of the cloves,cardamom and and cinnamon. I used veal as I had some in the freezer. The family really enjoyed it. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
Great recipe. I left out all the hot spices because I wanted to give it to my 1 year old son. I also didn't have garlic paste and ginger paste. Also, instead of 5 onions, I just put ONE and it turned out perfect. Everyone in my family absolutely loved it even the baby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Wonderful recipe. It took me two and half hours to prep and cook. It turned out real good! Cant wait to make again. Modification- Step 6: Instead of oil use Ghee(clarified Indian butter). When the onion start turning brown add a handful golden raisins followed by some raw cashews (Do not use the salted or seasoned kind like Planters-- you can get the raw cashews at the Indian stores, they are like $4.99 for quarter pound).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
Excellent recipe, but a little modification, Add half teaspoon of Nutmeg, and one star Anise makes the flavour burst in your mouth. Note: you can also use Goat/Beef meat it works perfectly great with the same recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
just did this recipe, I didn't add the green chile coz I dont eat spicy food, so I enjoyed it a lot. thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
This is my favorite Indian dish, along with the Palak Paneer. This recipe is fantastic! I love to drink mango lassi with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Barquisimeto, Lara, Venezuela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
Very, very good and very authentic tasting. It does have a long list of ingredients, but my spice cabinet is pretty well stocked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Good EatNZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yuba City, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Biryani

Watch how to make this top-rated Indian dish.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Roast Lamb with Root Vegetables

What's cooking in Polson? This impressive lamb dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States