Lamb Feta Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
AMAZING! This was a hit for my family. But instead of using feta (even though I love it) I took a chance and used goat cheese. It was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Belvidere, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
These were delicious! And I did follow the advice of one of the reviewers who skipped the sugar and added some lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
I love these. It's hard for me not to eat the filling before I even put it in the peppers!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
WOW! This is a keeper. My variation was I used uncooked wild rice,a little over 1/2 cup, and increased covered cook time by 10 mins and uncovered by 5. It turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cameron, Missouri, USA
Living In: Junction City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
very flavorful. Family loved them. Easy to prepare. I used 1/2 pound of lamb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
I used red bell peppers. I used tomato soup in the mixture and cooked in the microwave for convenience and quickness. Yummy, totally yummy flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Wrzesinski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Lamb is a bit of a unique taste, but my husband loves it so I tried these peppers. I used double the sausage and less rice. I diced the tops of the peppers and added them to the stuffing. He loved it! He said it was the best meal he has had in a long time. Next time I will take another reviewer's suggestion and use quinoa instead of rice, and will use a can or two of stewed tomatoes instead of the sauce. I had plenty of stuffing - not enough sauce or peppers, due to doubling the sausage. I did cook the peppers for a few minutes first in salt water. We like them a bit softer. This one is a Keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cwby2nz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Lunas, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
Thank you! This is a solid recipe, with Greek flavors that blend well for the uninitiated, but with plenty of room for a confident cook to play. I have made stuffed peppers plenty of times, usually with beef and Italian seasoning, and I have been unimpressed. Using lamb changes the whole story, and I will only stuff green peppers with lamb from now on! I used quinoa (because I have been cooking with rice constantly lately), and even while cooking the quinoa beforehand, it's aroma made me feel that mixing it with lamb was a perfect match. I was not wrong! Also, my peppers were so large that I only used 4, and I had some room at the top after stuffing. This gave me a nice moat in which my tomato sauce could eddy, without spilling much into the pan. Uncovered, they cooked for about 1 hour and 15 minutes at 350F to reach 170F in the center. The resultant browning on the top made me want to sprinkle some mozzarella cheese, so I did and that was a nice topping (even it that is not Greek :). ***One thing that I thought was super special, because of my own mistake, was that after I stuffed the peppers, instead of mixing the lemon with the tomato sauce, I squeezed the lemon directly onto the meat mixture in the peppers. This resulted in a yummy lemony layer that was a big tasty surprise! I highly recommend!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Big hit! Alterations made; reduced rice to 1/2 C added diced zucchini, I also pre-boiled the bell peppers (dutch oven in about 2 inches of salted water while I was chopping the vegetables.. about 5min med burner) I also used a pound of Lamb and had to pour the extra fat out of the fry pan. Next time I would cook lamb first and skip the olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
These were fabulous. I loved the suggestion made by another reviewer to cut the peppers top to bottom to make 'boats'; I thought the presentation was much more attractive, and you get a better ratio of filling to stuffing. Used red bell peppers because I don't like green ones that much; otherwise followed recipe pretty faithfully. I did add about 1/2 of a lemon's worth of zest to the filling -because we're big lemon fans - which was an excellent plan, but would've still been fine without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dickinson, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Braised Lamb Shanks

Watch Chef John make succulent, fragrant, slightly spicy lamb shanks.

Stuffed Green Peppers I

See how to make 5-star stuffed peppers.

Zucchini Noodles and Feta Meatballs

This amazing "spaghetti" and meatballs dinner is completely gluten-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States