Lamb Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
Made this recipe or 48 last evening for church dinner...the taste was "tangy tomato" and otherwise bland. Added parmesan cheese, sugar and half & half to cut the tanginess and make a bit creamy....it wasa HIT and no one was the wiser! Cale
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
Yummy if you're a lamb lover!! I used chunks of lamb left over from a cooked roast. I also added a few string beans and garlic. The chili powder added the right amount of spice for us.... if you don't like heat add less chili powder. This recipe has been added to my keeper recipe book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ClassSeaLady

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
We roasted a lamb in a pit for New Years and had leftover lamb to use up. Oh my goodness, this is so good. My slight adjustments: my lamb was precooked, no celery (preference) and instead of adding 2 cups of water I had let my barley boil and sit soaking for an hour before I made the soup and added it plus 1 cup of water. I like my stew hearty and a bit thicker, not too watery. Oh, I also sautéed some baby Bella mushrooms in butter and added those later on. I would definitely add mushrooms every time. After the 45 min cook was done I let it sit warm on the stove for a couple hours to let the flavors blend. I ate this for dinner last night, lunch and bedtime snack tonight. I can't wait to eat it again tomorrow for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb Smeak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Good lamb-y comfort food for a winter night! I changed the tomato soup to tomato paste for a more robust tomato flavor. I also used cumin and cinnamon and some fresh mint leaves and parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bucksport, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
wow is this good soup and I only had ground chicken available. I can only imagine how good it would be with lamb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Outstanding! Tried it tonight with very lean ground lamb exactly as printed, and everybody loved it. Very rare that all the members of my family fall in love with a dish and ask to have it again while they go back for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Made 'Lamb Feta Peppers' (WOW) with 1/2 lb of ground lamb so thought i would try this with the 1/2 lb i had left. Didn't have the lamb flavor i was hoping for. It is really good but i will use a whole lb next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cameron, Missouri, USA
Living In: Junction City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Didn't have any barley. It was lentils, so I tried it with them. Omitted carrots. We loved it! One of the best lamb recipes I have eaten because I' m not a big lamb fan. Will make again using barley because I know it will definitely be a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
Substituted mushroom soup for tomato soup, added mushrooms- wonderful-the smell was assaulting my nose, it smelled so good! My 6 year-old asked for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Prissz
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
Fabulous recipe as written. After we all ate the soup I added another pound of browned lamb, puree'd tomatoes and beef stock to make it more of a stew. Just stretching it a bit more and changing it up for the next night. My children say it's one of their favorites :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Chef John's Beef and Barley Stew

Discover Chef John's delicious recipe for "stick to your ribs" stew.

Lamb Tagine

Lamb is stewed in Moroccan spices until moist and tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States