Lamb Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
wow is this good soup and I only had ground chicken available. I can only imagine how good it would be with lamb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Outstanding! Tried it tonight with very lean ground lamb exactly as printed, and everybody loved it. Very rare that all the members of my family fall in love with a dish and ask to have it again while they go back for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Made 'Lamb Feta Peppers' (WOW) with 1/2 lb of ground lamb so thought i would try this with the 1/2 lb i had left. Didn't have the lamb flavor i was hoping for. It is really good but i will use a whole lb next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cameron, Missouri, USA
Living In: Junction City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Didn't have any barley. It was lentils, so I tried it with them. Omitted carrots. We loved it! One of the best lamb recipes I have eaten because I' m not a big lamb fan. Will make again using barley because I know it will definitely be a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
Substituted mushroom soup for tomato soup, added mushrooms- wonderful-the smell was assaulting my nose, it smelled so good! My 6 year-old asked for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Prissz
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
Fabulous recipe as written. After we all ate the soup I added another pound of browned lamb, puree'd tomatoes and beef stock to make it more of a stew. Just stretching it a bit more and changing it up for the next night. My children say it's one of their favorites :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Used one pound of ground sirloin and one pound ground lamb. Omitted the beans as they don't agree with my digestion. Family loved it so much, that I have made it twice in a month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whitelotuskim

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
won a local cooking contest with this recipe with a few tweaks. i doubled the ground lamb, added a can of stewed tomatoes drained and chopped, added 8 oz chopped baby portabellas, one more can of tomato soup, one more can of consomme, upped the barley to 2/3 cup and at the end added some chopped up curly kale
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Added more veggies, garlic, rosemary and thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
mmmmm mmmmm good!! i can understand why there is no salt in this recipe. IT DOESNT NEED IT!!delicious. i had ground lamb, and ahve never eaten it, much less cooked it. we found exactly one pound for sale one day, and decided to buy it. i didnt know what to do with it and i looked on here. the first thing that popped up (after you click on rating) was this. not one person, including me has rated this less than 5 stars. i just realized we had barley the other day in our cabinet, and had also never cooked THAT before (gimme a break. im a fairly new cook) and gave it a try, especially bcuz of the impossibility that anyone was able to rate it less than 5. glad i tried this. i made this on christmas and thought i had all the ingredients, and looked back at the recipe and realized it said one 28 OZ, when i thought it was just a regular can, and everythings closed so i had to use just one and a can on tomato paste, but everything else i left alone. oh, and it said in your description you could/should add any other veggies so i used everything here and a little fresh broccoli as well. WOW! thats very rare that every single person that rates, esPECially on this website, gives something 5 stars. idk why more ppl havent tried. it is SO GOOD!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whitneyriot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Lamb Tagine

Lamb is stewed in Moroccan spices until moist and tender.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States