Lahmahjoon (Armenian Pizza) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
This recipe is realy fabulous with the additions I've made which gives it, I believe a more authentic flavor. Used more chopped peppers (red and green), cause I had them & needed to use them up. Instead of the parsley, used 1 full bunch of cilantro finely chopped. Added more cumin (3/4-1 tablespoon), 2 tablespoons of mint. 1 lb pizza dough, cut in 4 equal pieces (used more dough, cause makes more then 4 Lahmahjoon). Sauted the onions with peppers until golden, then added the garlic (oh yeah, 1-2 T). Once vegies were cooked to release their flavor, added the pre-cooked ground lamb. Please add salt and pepper to taste, without it, it will be blah. brush olive oil lightly over the doug. Spread the meat thinly over each pizza. Once baked, sprinkle some lemon juice over the top. Yummy in our tummies is what my family experienced. My husband is Armenian and he couldn't stop eating it & remarked on how close it is to an Armenian store which we've bought these from located in Watertown, MA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FANTASKMANJAR

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
I loved this! So delicious. Had to sub turkey for the lamb, and I accidently used tomato sauce instead of paste. Still, it turned out excellent. Bf's only complaint was that the bread was too crispy--wanted it softer. I may have contributed to that, though, bc I used Indian Chapati Bread that I had made from a recipe, and I made the bread small. So maybe less time in the oven or just heat separately, and bf will be happy. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
I had these years ago and loved them. I have searched for a recipe and nothing has even come close...until I found this one!! Incredible, absolutely delicious! Thank you for this wonderful recipe. The only problem I had, was trying to find fluffy tortillas so I just used the flat tortillas and they were fantastic. Thanks again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
This is very good. It kind of reminds me of Sloppy Joe meat on a pita lol. I added a little more salt and put some mozerella on top! yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Lord have mercy, this was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Quiqui Vasquez Dagle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Excellent recipe. If I don't have ground lamb I substitute ground beef. Serve with yogurt mixed with tomatoes, cucumber, cilantro & scallions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
Terrific, just terrific. My wife is somewhat finicky, and she ended up eating two of the four made. I followed this straight through. I might up the garlic next time, but... Well... If I were still cooking professionally, this would be a menu item- appetizer and meal version with a light salad. And I guarantee it would sell. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendall Gray

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
I have a bad track record in the kitchen. This recipe was easy to follow, and my husband really liked it, too. Success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
I planned an “Armenian Feast” for my husband whose family is Armenian. Not only was this recipe simple and easy, it was absolutely delicious. My grocery store doesn’t carry ground lamb, so I bought a pair of lamb chops, cut them up, and pulsed the meat in a food processor for a couple seconds. It worked wonderfully. I used the bones to make a stock for the “Armenian Lentils” recipe also found on this site. I debated on making some flatbread from scratch, but opted instead for whole wheat tortillas. The tortillas were on the small side, so it worked best when we just folded them over like a taco as opposed to stacking them and slicing like a pizza. The hubby was very impressed; and my children, ages 7, 3, and 2 asked if I would make this for dinner every night. That’s a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YELLEPHANT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bishop, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2003
Will make again, but with changes. If we bake these, we'll try baking at 400 at 5 - 10 min. Ours were smoking at 450 by 8 min. Otherwise, we'll use flour tortilla's & pan fry. We suggest topping with a little cucumber ranch dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Brick-Oven Pizza (Brooklyn Style)

See how to make authentic brick-oven cheese pizza from scratch.

Easy Pizza Sauce III

This no-cook pizza sauce tastes just like the best takeout.

Quick and Easy Pizza Crust

Homemade pizza in less than 30 minutes? This video shows you how.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States