Lahmahjoon (Armenian Pizza) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
I have a bad track record in the kitchen. This recipe was easy to follow, and my husband really liked it, too. Success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
If you can find lamb at all, you can make "ground lamb" easily by putting chunks into a food processor and processing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
Coming from an Armenian family, I grew up on Lahmahjoon. Making this on a tortilla is definitely easier, but it tastes more authentic on flat bread, (which is much more time consuming.) I moved from CA to UT and can't find ground lamb anywhere here. I made this recipe with beef and it still tasted good, but I prefer the lamb. I didn't follow the recipe exactly, but I felt the mixture of spices was pretty accurate. By the way: I love rolling Lahmahjoon up with lettuce and tomatoe in the middle. It makes a great sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauraloves2run

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
this was a very interesting way of making pizza! because we're a household of 2, we had it 2 days in succession. first day i thought there was a tiny something missing, so i added some salt to the remaining mixture, and the next day it tasted perfect. i soaked the tortillas in water before i spread the meat mixture on them, and that stopped the base drying out too quickly while cooking in the oven, as we wanted to put some chopped lettuce and tomato in the centre and roll them up. i found 230 degrees a little high on the first day, so on day 2, i heated the oven to 200 degrees and it was perfect. i also served it with some guacamole and sour cream. yummy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rua

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kilkenny, County Kilkenny, Ireland
Living In: Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
Terrific, just terrific. My wife is somewhat finicky, and she ended up eating two of the four made. I followed this straight through. I might up the garlic next time, but... Well... If I were still cooking professionally, this would be a menu item- appetizer and meal version with a light salad. And I guarantee it would sell. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendall Gray

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
Three grocery stores and I couln't find ground lamb so I used turkey instead. We liked the taste, it was unique. I wasn't able to sit the mixture as long as suggested but was still great. I plan on making it again, hopefully with lamb next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyofRedHeads

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
I have never had this on either pita or a tortilla before. My great grandmother always made it on an extremely flat bread she made from scratch- it was like a soft cracker, similar to boraghatz (spelling?). She also used the ground lamb sparingly, so it was less condensed and more smattered in the sauce. I am still searching for the cracker-bread recipie, though, and will update if I find it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2005
These were pretty darn good. Next time I think I'll try making them with ground beef. I don't usually like to alter recipes the first time I try them, however I didn't have any mint leaves so I used cilantro instead. The only other thing I added was salt and freshly ground black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2003
Will make again, but with changes. If we bake these, we'll try baking at 400 at 5 - 10 min. Ours were smoking at 450 by 8 min. Otherwise, we'll use flour tortilla's & pan fry. We suggest topping with a little cucumber ranch dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-29 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Brick-Oven Pizza (Brooklyn Style)

See how to make authentic brick-oven cheese pizza from scratch.

Easy Pizza Sauce III

This no-cook pizza sauce tastes just like the best takeout.

Quick and Easy Pizza Crust

Homemade pizza in less than 30 minutes? This video shows you how.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States