Lahmahjoon (Armenian Pizza) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
This was an interesting tasting dish. I love lamb, so I liked that, but it wasn't anything to rave about. I also didn't have mint though, so it would have changed the flavor a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krystal907

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Pullman, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
I had these years ago and loved them. I have searched for a recipe and nothing has even come close...until I found this one!! Incredible, absolutely delicious! Thank you for this wonderful recipe. The only problem I had, was trying to find fluffy tortillas so I just used the flat tortillas and they were fantastic. Thanks again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
I decided to try this recipe after it was featured on the front of allrecipes. I can't recall if I have ever tried Lamahjoon before, but the recipe looked easy and quick to make. As suggested by the recipe, I made the filling the day before to let the flavors blend, and I think this does make a difference. I used ground beef instead of ground lamb, because im not a fan of lamb. I also used dried mint leaves crushed, it was what I had. And used yellow bell pepper instead, but i think it gave it a nice sweetness. This came out pretty good and I liked how the pita was pefectly crispy, sadly it`s not great to bring as a lunch to work. The pita gets a bit mushy. My fiancee liked it and I think i'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
Someone in the office raved for hours about how good and quick this pizza was, convinced me to try it and my first mistake was accepting a premade instead of making it myself. Next time I'll try the recipe myself, I think he was just after my job.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
Tasty and easy! I combined this with a couple of other recipes for Lahmahjoon adding chopped shallots in place of the bell pepper, toasted pine nuts and most important of all, 1/8 tsp of ground allspice. The smell when these were cooking reminded me of my favorite Jordanian restaurant in Tucson, divine. We rolled these up with chopped parsley, cukes, tomatoes and a hefty dollop of baba ghanouj (recipe on this site!). Thanks for the excellent and economical meal!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
I loved this! So delicious. Had to sub turkey for the lamb, and I accidently used tomato sauce instead of paste. Still, it turned out excellent. Bf's only complaint was that the bread was too crispy--wanted it softer. I may have contributed to that, though, bc I used Indian Chapati Bread that I had made from a recipe, and I made the bread small. So maybe less time in the oven or just heat separately, and bf will be happy. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
My grocery store didn't have ground lamb so I used veal. It was good, not the way my husband remembers it from Montreal. Will make again though, and try to find lamb next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jonshepi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda
Reviewed: May 31, 2008
I had been craving this for awhile and decided to make it since we have moved far away from our usual Turkish restaurant that serves it....the ground lamb I bought didn't seem to be ground enough so next time I'll process it further so the end result is more like a paste and not too chunky. I think my husband is still yearning our regular restaurant style Lahmahjoon so I found it hard to make a good rival for it at home unfortunately. Can't blame a girl for trying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
I planned an “Armenian Feast” for my husband whose family is Armenian. Not only was this recipe simple and easy, it was absolutely delicious. My grocery store doesn’t carry ground lamb, so I bought a pair of lamb chops, cut them up, and pulsed the meat in a food processor for a couple seconds. It worked wonderfully. I used the bones to make a stock for the “Armenian Lentils” recipe also found on this site. I debated on making some flatbread from scratch, but opted instead for whole wheat tortillas. The tortillas were on the small side, so it worked best when we just folded them over like a taco as opposed to stacking them and slicing like a pizza. The hubby was very impressed; and my children, ages 7, 3, and 2 asked if I would make this for dinner every night. That’s a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YELLEPHANT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bishop, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
This turned out well, but I ended up adding much more basil and mint, and I wish I had left out the green bell pepper. Husband added cheese to his - I think he was unable to comprehend pizza without it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Brick-Oven Pizza (Brooklyn Style)

See how to make authentic brick-oven cheese pizza from scratch.

Easy Pizza Sauce III

This no-cook pizza sauce tastes just like the best takeout.

Quick and Easy Pizza Crust

Homemade pizza in less than 30 minutes? This video shows you how.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States